My First GoFundMe since 2017

Kayla Tackett
2 min readAug 18, 2022

Today I reluctantly created my first GoFundMe since 2017.

With tears in my eyes and my two-year-old on my lap, I created a $200 request for help with groceries because our family is struggling.

Photo by Ehud Neuhaus on Unsplash

Back in 2017, we created a GoFundMe to help with funeral expenses for our daughter Violet. That campaign never gained a cent. At that time, I lost all hope for the site and humanity as a whole. Over the years I have realized that people only help when they can. I shouldn’t have been upset that those who felt for our family could not assist in any way financially.

Throughout my time here on Medium, I have written about ways to earn income from home. Although I do them, they are not enough to sufficiently support our life.

A few weeks ago, my husband and I both ran into medical issues that put us out of regulatory work. I may hate standardized jobs, but I’m not above working them to keep the lights on. Well, our lights are on, and our rent is paid but we need food.

I have applied for 22 jobs, some near my home and some remote, since our vehicle cannot make long drives due to its mechanical issues and have yet to hear anything back from any of them.

Writers want to give the illusion that they are doing fine and that they have all the confidence in the world. To some of you reading…

--

--

Kayla Tackett

Blogging Wife and Mother with a passion for humor. Remember: Shine Bright 🧡https://www.buymeacoffee.com/mommomentsI