The cage of cruel norms

Breaking Free from the Chains: Escaping Societal Norms

Momtaz F
3 min readAug 23, 2023
https://pin.it/5dX4Vk9

We’re locked in a cage, where everything seems so overwhelming and strange. A cage that harbors the most violent chains, called crutches, in all of which we have been imprisoned by society. These crutches can be represented as a painting, drawn by society, in which everyone must be happy with the colors and elements of this work of art, regardless of circumstances. This is a rule we must stick to, otherwise we risk being seen as a vicious virus in our environment, our cage. Everything in this piece seems lovely and peaceful, until we discover the meaning hidden behind it, the cries of agony it emits, the expression of a smiling face, hiding behind it a shattered soul.

Standards, those rules we must obey, to preserve a peaceful life, without being estranged from a loving family or thrown into the violent winds of society. Since the dawn of civilization, cultures have seen the light of day, showing people a strict, yet promising path of certain inherited traditions, which meets people’s standards and complies with their beliefs. People have come to realize that norms vary and evolve over time, and that traditional practices will not be able to keep up with this drastic revolution, so it will be much simpler to abolish them than to change what is engraved in the minds of the elderly. This ideology, regarded as devilish by the narrow-minded, is centered on freedom, the right to live as you wish, to express yourself joyfully without disturbing or violating the boundaries of others.

My own experience in that cage was no better, I was told, yet forced, to behave, to act, to believe in a certain way, it was considered the only right way to achieve a successful life, to satisfy the bizarre desires of others, not my very own. So I’ve had to fight to live my life the way I intend, the way I please, and to build up my mindset, my beliefs and my values. Ever since I was born, people have made me feel like the black sheep, doing my best to fit in, but nothing worked out for me as I had planned, but it all benefited me in the end. Being rejected has made me my own boss, having a strong mentality different from others, and the best part of it all is not feeling ashamed to speak out, to say sincerely and unashamedly what I believe in, equality and freedom, which are mocked where I sit. It was turbulent at first, with the winds of shame tossing me around in circles, but the traumas taught me more and more, and I built my perseverance from scratch so that I could cope with this difficult environment without being broken into pieces. I’ve realized that I wasn’t created to obey anyone but my own desires, my own self, because that’s the only thing that goes with me until my last breath. I have my convictions, I don’t need to listen to others, and whatever they say, I’ll never be disturbed, because my confidence cradles all their egos.

The cage has trapped us all and, whatever you say, whatever your convictions and evidence, these standards have attacked all of us, no exceptions, no discrimination, by simply twisting our lives and minds, making us slaves to traditions, cultures and religions. Our experiences may vary, but they’re all valid. We will hold each other close, support our own traumas and learn from the worst. Maybe one day we’ll be able to escape this prison, this cruel cage, and run wild, in the haze of euphoria, happiness, acceptance and love. Everyone is different in their own unique way, but acceptance is the key to freedom!

--

--

Momtaz F

The harmonious flow of romantic poetry and melancholic philosophy!