Spark Creativity with Thomas Edison’s Napping Technique

Monendra Singh
4 min readFeb 8, 2023

I recently read this fantastic book written by Bret Stetka & immediately wanted to share the crux of what I learned about sleep. A recent study suggests that the N1 stage of sleep could hold the key to unlocking our brain’s full potential for problem-solving and creativity. By harnessing this state, individuals may be able to tackle complex issues and generate innovative solutions with ease in the future.

Hey there! If you enjoy my content, don’t hesitate to give me a follow. I’ll be sure to return the favor within 12 hours because I love discovering new and interesting things. Let’s keep the conversation going and share our ideas together!

Is sleep a waste of time?

Thomas Edison, the renowned inventor of the light bulb, was known for his unorthodox approach to sleep. He famously claimed to only need four hours of sleep a night, considering the rest to be a waste of time. However, Edison had a unique trick up his sleeve to harness his creative potential. He would take naps holding onto two balls, allowing himself to drift off into sleep while holding onto the balls. If he had a creative thought just before falling asleep, the act of dropping the balls would jolt him awake and allow him to remember the thought. This technique allowed Edison to grasp and hold onto elusive ideas just…

--

--

Monendra Singh

Hi, I have always had a passion for learning and sharing my knowledge with others, here to connect with like-minded individuals and build a strong network.