15 Best Work from Home Jobs in 2020 that Pay Well! — I Make $5,000/mo.

Money Tent
10 min readMar 3, 2020

--

Online Jobs Work from Home

Work from home jobs are on the rise.

It’s a movement that’s currently disrupting the traditional workforce, and I’m on board.

If you’re self-motivated and disciplined, starting a career working from home would be perfect for you because that’s all it really takes.

There are so many different areas that will save you money when you work from home. You’ll save on gas, lunches, daycare (maybe), clothing, saving time from the daily commute, and much more. Today I’m going to share my work from home job along with 15 other work from home jobs that pay well.

Not long ago, I was expecting my second child and desperate to leave my 9–5 for something flexible enough to work around my kid’s schedule, but I didn’t know what to do.

I was looking for some online jobs where I could work from home from people who were doing it today successfully, but I couldn’t find any.

I decided to reach out to work from home moms and interview them to see what they did, how they got started, how they were able to do it with kids, and most importantly how much they were able to earn working from home.

I created this website to share their stories in an article I wrote on Stay at Home Mom Jobs.

So the jobs on this list are definitely work from home jobs for moms and for anyone who is looking for legitimate work from home jobs.

Quick Sidenote: Are you a mom and on Instagram? I’m starting to become more active again and I’d love to connect with moms who “get it”. It’s so much better going through this wonderful yet challenging journey of motherhood together. You can follow me here.

I’ve done the research so you won’t have to. These have all been tried and tested, and the companies I recommend all have a 4/5-star rating or higher from real work from home jobs Glassdoor.

For each work from home job listed, you will find out how much you can earn and how to get started.

You’ll find that a great deal of these are legitimate work from home jobs with no startup fee and that most of these work from home jobs can be done part-time.

We strongly recommend that you check out our guide on how to take advantage of AI in today’s passive income economy.

15+ Legitimate Work from Home Jobs Hiring Now

Here are 15+ of the best work from home jobs with a flexible schedule.

1. Online Writer

Do you like to write? You can make a lot of money as a writer, I know because I interviewed Holly Johnson who makes OVER $200,000 a year as a Freelance Writer. I didn’t even know that was possible!

Writing is by far one of the best work at home jobs for moms because you get to work entirely around your schedule.

How much can I make? Holly Johnson said that she finds it hard for you NOT to earn AT LEAST $40,000 to $50,000 a year working full-time as a writer.

I highly recommend taking her course if you want to work from home writing and follow her path to success. I also have several ways to get writing gigs at the end of this article. Work from home jobs near me

2. Proofreader

Do you find yourself easily catching errors when reading? Do you cringe when you see grammar mistakes? If so, you might make a great Proofreader.

Proofreaders are NEEDED, I know because I use one myself.

learn the skills needed to start your own freelance proofreading hustle or see if this is the right career for you, check out this How do I get started? If you want to FREE introductory workshop. Work from home jobs part-time

3. Virtual Bookkeeper

Bookkeepers record financial transactions for small business owners. I have an awesome interview with two moms who are now successful Virtual Bookkeepers who started with no previous experience.

One of the moms has 9 kids, homeschools 6 and still has time to make a living as a Bookkeeper Part-time!! She makes over $2,000/mo. You’ll have to check out the full interview in my How to Become a Bookkeeper article.

Check out this How do I get started? free training to determine if this is right for you. If you have experience as a bookkeeper check out Accountingdepartment.com, Belay, FlexJobs, and Upwork for remote Bookkeeping positions. Real work from home jobs

4. Work from Home Freelance Jobs

Freelance jobs are the best work from home jobs. You deliver a service for a fee with the ability to work where and when you want with unlimited earning potential! Legitimate work from home jobs hiring now

Your skillset may be one of the following:

If you’ve ever had an interest in one of these it’s time to pursue it!

If you don’t know-how, that’s okay because I met BOSS MOM Micala who is just like me in many ways and she helps moms start a profitable freelance business from scratch. YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE A MOM for her to help you. In fact, if you’re not a mom you have the potential to earn even more because you have more time (I think).

I had an AMAZING interview with her on How to Become a Freelancer Online and she created a free workshop to show you how she did it and how you can too. Check it out here and see if freelancing is right for you.

I’ve also found many freelance jobs using. I sift through the available work options to see which project suits me the best.

I only apply to the jobs I KNOW I can do well because after the project is over its important that I get a good review so I can continue to get more jobs.

I suggest the following when applying to jobs on :

For a full list of freelance services you can provide on Upwork

5. Transcribe

  • Focus on the projects with only 5–10 proposals or less submitted (less competition)
  • Check that the client has the “blue verified payment check” before applying
  • When you see a job that fits you, apply for it immediately!
  • Immediate hire work from home jobs
  • If you live in the U.S., make sure to check “U.S. Only.”
  • If you are pitching your first job, try to offer your services for free for one week to ease the client’s mind since you have no references or reviews. If the client likes you move on with the “paid service” the following week. That’s how I won my first job, and the client still paid me for my first week.

Transcribers listen to audio files and record (type) what they hear. If you have patience and the ability to sit for long periods of time and an eye for detail, you should consider transcribing.

Take this How do I get started? Free Mini-Course for a full overview of transcribing and how to get started. I also have 4 companies hiring along with a work at home success story on transcribing in my article on How to Work from Home Transcribing.

6. Start a Blog

Blogging should be #1 on this list because it’s what I do and I LOVE it, but I understand it’s not for everyone.

Blogging is one of my favorite forms of passive income. I make money just for people reading my articles from ads.

When you get a nice amount of people reading your articles, it brings in a nice income. Here’s a screenshot of my earnings from the other day.

I can assure you, I did not write this article today and yet it’s making me money. I also make money by partnering with companies and becoming an “Affiliate”. You can see how I make money blogging.

Blogging takes ‘A LOT’ of work (in the beginning anyway), but it’s so rewarding if you hang in there. I probably work 10 hours per week at the most now, it really doesn’t get much better than that…BUT that’s after you’ve done the work.

You DO NOT need to be an excellent writer to become a blogger, you just write like you talk. That’s what I do.

How much can I make? I know bloggers earning between $2,000-$100,000+ per MONTH (and I’m one of them)

7. Teach English Online

If you have a Bachelor’s degree, citizen or permanent resident of the U.S. or Canada, and teaching experience (tutoring, mentoring, children’s church,etc. are all acceptable), then you should definitely consider teaching kids in China English. Work from home jobs for moms

How much can I make? $2,000/mo working only 3 hours a day for VIPKID.

How do I get started? See How Brittney Sutton makes $1,700/mo working 2 hours a day working for VIPKID and here is a list of other recommended companies hiring to teach online.

8. Resell Items Online (Amazon FBA program)

If you like shopping and searching for a good deal, you should definitely consider Amazon’s FBA program.

Find good deals on products at brick and mortar stores or online and resell them on Amazon for a higher price.

What makes Amazon’s FBA program so great is that THEY ship the products to your customers and handle the customer service!

My sister does this to make extra money on the side while working a full-time job and earns over $2,000 per month!

How much can I make? This varies significantly and depends on how much work you are willing to put in, but Jessica from the Selling family made over $100,000 in profit after her first year as a full-time Amazon seller. Check out my awesome interview with her on How to Sell on Amazon.

How do I get started? Take this FREE 7-Day Email Course on how to start selling on Amazon. Work from home jobs amazon

9. Flip Items from Flea Markets and Thrift Shops

Online tutoring is growing thanks to the advancements in technology, and it’s an excellent way to work from home if you have teaching experience or knowledge of a specific subject.

How much can I make? $10.50 — $60 per hour.

11. Get Into Real Estate BUT w/o Selling or Buying Anything

Yes, this really is a thing. I met Boss Mom Danielle Pierce who is doing this earning over $400,000 a year WHILE homeschooling her 3 kids!

It’s called Property Preservation or Repairing Foreclosed Homes. Danielle outsources 100% of the work and only does admin work.

How much can I make? It varies but Danielle says it’s very feasible to gross $100k+ or more in revenue within 18 months

How do I get started? Check out my interview with Danielle to see how it all works and take her FREE Masterclass to see if this is right for you.

Do you love personal development and enjoy helping people? If that’s you, you should consider becoming a Life Coach.

See how Natalie Bacon became a Life Coach making six-figures on her way to seven-figures!

How much can I make? It depends on your market. If you are targeting lower-income, you can charge $47 per hour, if you’re targeting higher-income you could charge $297 per hour or much more.

It also depends on your model, are you doing 1-to-1 coaching or group coaching?

How do I get started? Check out my article on How to Become a Life Coach and consider this Life Coach Certificate Course.

13.Virtual Receptionist

Answer calls and web chats for a variety of businesses and professionals for Smith.ai, working alongside a close-knit team from around the country.

Smith.ai operates Monday through Friday from

And “ Pin It “ 🙂

COMPENSATION & BENEFITS Benefits include:

--

--

Money Tent

Money Tent offers cutting-edge online money-making strategies for beginners to leverage before they lose their appeal. 🤑 https://wealthytent.com/