The Avery Series Table of Contents

Monica Monedero
3 min readJul 25, 2022

I wrote most of this in 2022 and this was my cathartic writing about Avery; losing her to suicide; on being trans; finding her body; organ donation; seeking beauty through loss; and some of Avery’s own writing.

I feel like I’ve grown from writing in this way. It helped me heal. I was mostly seeking understanding from people. I am often asked questions in my life about it, and I didn’t want to have those half way conversations that can occur with the normal interruptions of everyday life. It can help people who are interested know me better so I tell new friends they are welcome to read about it, but no problem if not — it’s not for everyone.

With life, we carry our pain with us. It shapes us and our interactions with those around us. I find that if I let these raw emotions spill onto the page, I can greet life with a new openness and appreciation for other people and the pain they carry. If they know my suffering than I may know theirs so we can share, and perhaps find meaning and laughter through life’s tragedies.

Stories are listed below in the order I would like to see them read, but chapters are numbered in the order in which I wrote each story.

--

--