Chapter 6: The Summit of Emotions: A Day at Everest Base Camp

Monica Thukkaram
6 min readSep 9, 2023

--

Read previous chapters here

Day 9 was a big day for all of us. The previous day, Gopal dai asked us to rest very well, as the next day was going to be very very tiresome. It was D-day — we were going on the longest trek, approximately 17 km, with a steep ascent, and we would be gaining an altitude of 500m. I woke up very early that day, around 4:30 AM, since I had gone to bed early at 9 PM. I couldn’t sleep well, as I had lots of emotions going on: it was like the first day at school, like going for an interview for your dream job, or like taking an exam that would ultimately decide your fate. A mix of excitement and thoughts about the trail itself rushed through my mind. I got ready and left my room around 6 AM for breakfast. As it was super early, I wasn’t able to eat; I felt nauseated. We left the teahouse. Gopal dai suggested going to a prayer stone on the way, as it is traditional for travelers to circle it for good luck. The air was thin, and each breath felt like a small victory. We were about to reach Everest Base Camp (EBC). Our guide, Gopal dai, led the way, always making sure we were okay. He told us that the phone signal at the base camp was good. I had planned to call my parents and my husband once we got there. My parents thought I was at a yoga retreat, and I couldn’t wait to tell them the truth.

As we walked closer to the base camp, my heart was racing. I was so excited and couldn’t believe I was about to reach the base of the tallest mountain in the world. Two months ago, I was sitting on my couch in Belgium, joking about doing this trek. And now, here I was, about to make it a reality. I took out my colorful cap, which read “Everest Base Camp,” that I had bought in Namche Bazaar on Day 3. I had promised myself that I would wear this cap only when I reached the base camp. I took the cap from my bag and was so happy to finally get to wear it. It’s very difficult to express the joy that I felt at that moment. While I could say it felt like having an incredible first day at school, or like getting selected in an interview for my dream job, or even like cracking the exam that decides my fate, the truth is, it was none of those things. The joy and ecstasy I felt at that moment were beyond comparison and unlike anything else I’ve ever experienced yet. I wouldn’t trade that feeling for anything in the world.

Finally, we got to Everest Base Camp. I was standing at the base of the world’s tallest mountain. I felt so many emotions at once — happiness, excitement, and a feeling of achievement. Even when I think about that moment now, I get goosebumps. Honestly, I never thought I would make it here. On Day 5, when I was broken and crying in pain, I thought I would never make it to Day 9. So at that point, I just decided to go with the flow and enjoy the journey without worrying too much about the destination. Now, here I am, in front of the mighty Himalayas, at the very base of Everest. Around me, I saw tents here and there. These were the homes of climbers who were getting ready to go to the top of Everest. I felt amazed by their courage.

Flags were everywhere at the camp. Some were from different countries, showing how people from all over the world come to Everest. Others were colorful prayer flags, sending good wishes to the sky. I also saw flags for people who had lost their lives on Everest. It made me realize how powerful and dangerous this mountain can be.

At the very base of the Everest

We spent a good 40 minutes at the base camp, and it was like a dream. There were about 20 people at the base camp by the time we reached, and we all shared the same joy and excitement. Even though we didn’t know the other people there, we all felt the same joy. We danced, sang, and took a lot of pictures. Some people were even dancing to a Bollywood song. The feeling in the air was like a big celebration.

I took out my phone and called my parents. “Guess what? I’m at Everest Base Camp!” I said. They couldn’t believe it at first, but then they were so happy for me. I also called my husband, and he was so proud. Even though they were far away, I felt so close to them at that moment. With the same excitement, we decided to descend as we wanted to reach the teahouse at Gorak Shep before it got too cold and dark.

But then, things changed quickly. When we got back to Gorak Shep, we found out that the girl from Singapore was very sick. She was throwing up and shaking a lot. We had to change our plans and stay in Gorak Shep for two more days to help her get better. It was a tough reminder of how quickly things can change in the mountains.

On Day 12, we started walking again and reached Thagnak and then the beautiful Gokyo. It felt so good to see the girl get better and to reach another amazing place. The time at Everest Base Camp was special for all of us. It was a dream come true, something we had all worked so hard for.

Being at the base camp made me think a lot. I felt so small next to these huge mountains, but also so strong for making it this far. I thought about all the people who had been here before me, the ones who made it and the ones who didn’t. Their stories are a part of this place, and now my story is too.

I also thought about how life is always changing. Soon, the base camp would be empty, and the mountain would be waiting for new people to come. But the memories we made here will last forever. As we walked back to Gorak Shep, I felt so thankful for this journey and for all the things I had learned about myself along the way.

So, with a thankful heart and a lot of new respect for these mountains, we started our walk back. Each step felt so meaningful like it was part of a bigger story that I would remember for the rest of my life.

To be continued…..

Monica

Read the last chapter here

Pictures were taken around the base camp region
Tents of summiteers

--

--

Monica Thukkaram

Indian, living in Belgium since 2014. Writes about my solo travel adventures, Yoga and books