Logitech G604 is the best productivity mouse that save you 10 minutes per day (no affiliation)

Chris H
4 min readJul 30, 2022

--

When people ask me to recommend a mouse, I always vote for my beloved Logitech G604 gaming mouse. Why? It is because has 13 programmable buttons that make the way of me using computer software more efficient and pleasant, no matter I am browsing the web, programming, or using Excel. How? Without that mouse I need to manually move the mouse cursor to do tedious actions such as closing tabs, switching to tabs, opening new window, shrinking/enlarging window, and millions more depending on the software.

Using mouse cursor can be tiring, because it requires you to:

  1. Move your eye balls to see the targeted area for clicking.
  2. Move your mouse cursor to the targeted area.
  3. Carefully click the button that you want to avoid clicking the wrong thing.

After doing this for many years I find it tiring for my eyeballs and hand, and sometimes break my flow of concentration. I want solution. I am quite good at keyboard hotkey but it is not always convenient to constantly switch between mouse and keyboard, consider this example:

The hotkey to shrink window on Windows 10 is Win + down arrow, to do that I need to let go the mouse to use both hand to use the keyboard, after that my right hand to grab the mouse to resume my control of the mouse. This is not convenient at all, and the whole process and take 3–5 seconds.

If I use G604 mouse, I can just click the side button with my thumb to perform shrink, done! The whole process take less than half second. What is even better is I do not need to move my head and eyes to find the area for clicking or the keys on the keyboard. Imagine you spend 8 hours on the computer and do more than thousand of operation, the time saved can accumulate to more than 10 minutes. And more important is it saves your energy, and your neck and eyes.

Let me show you my setup for web browsing and programming:

Setup for web browsing and general purpose
Setup for web browsing and general purpose

And programming in VScode:

Setup for programming in VScode
Setup for programming in VScode

After I programmed my mouse the first time, I cannot live without it. Normal mouse feel so inconvenient for me. What’s more when you have different setups, the software of the mouse (Logitech G HUB) will help you automatically switch the setup according to the application you are using. There is literally no delay at all between the switch. In that sense you have as many setups as you like, for example I have setups for web browsing, VScode, Excel, Notion, Adobe Premiere Pro, Age of Empire 4, CSGO, etc.

If you worry about if there is learning curve to program this mouse, I am assure that it is extremely easy, because the Logitech G HUB is very user friendly. Let me give you an example:

See? It is very easy, everyone can get a hang of it quickly.

Apart from this very simple function, the mouse offers a lot of advanced customization that empower user to carry out very sophisticated actions, as this is a competitive gaming mouse. I won’t go into details of it but I can guarantee you that it is more than enough.

To close this article, I would like to say after using this mouse, I cannot live with it anymore. Normal mouse feel so inefficient for me. And one more merit of this mouse is it has internal memory, so when I use other’s computer I can just plug in this mouse and use my setup.

This mouse is readily sold on Amazon or electronic shops, so there should be zero difficulty to find it. Apart from productivity and gaming, overall this is a great mouse. Great ergonomics that is suitable for most people, what I particularly like is that the arch of the mouse is tall enough for me to comfortably lie my palm on it. The only drawback of this mouse is this is not the lightest mouse (134 gram). According to Google search result the average weight of computer mouse is about 110 gram. So it is a bit heavier but most user may not even notice it. So it is fine.

Any thoughts or questions? Leave me comments and give 50 claps if this articles helps you.

--

--

Chris H

Write about pet care, and tips of using the internet to maximize your productivity and fun!