A short interview with Antonio Jacobs, the founder of monvid!

monvid
4 min readMar 27, 2018

--

Antonio Jacobs

We are going to interview one of the owners of the new project monvid “ The next generation of video streaming platform “

Q. Hello Antonio, can you please introduce your self and what role you have at monvid?
A. I am Antonio Jacobs, born in Barcelona, Spain. I got my Master in International Business Management at Boston University. I am currently the CEO and Co-Founder of monvid.

Q. Please explain us more about this project
A. We decided to call this new project monvid, this is a combination word of “mon” and “video”. The word “mon” means “my” in the France language and “vid” is the shortcut of “video”. In this project, we are going to build a decentralized network community which uses the blockchain technology to bypass any restriction, filtering, and censorship to deliver a free-adverb and easy-use video streaming platform for the future.

Q. How did you come to the idea building such an application?
A. I am a fan of Videos, Films, and Series. I like watching TV in my day but I was tired of paying a lot for providers such as Netflix, Maxdome, or even Sky to watch Films and Series. As I told before, I am from Spain and therefore I am traveling a lot to my city to visit my family and friends, but anytime I was in Europe I could not use my Netflix account to watch my series and films. I even could not use a VPN connection to bypass that as a lot of VPN IPs are blocked. If I ever wanted to watch a video or clip on YouTube, I had to spend a lot of my time for waiting for advertisements, so that was the moment I told myself I have to change something! Back in 2017, I visited one of my best friends Adrian ( he is also one of the Co-Founders at monvid ) and told him my idea regarding building a new decentralized application where people can share, watch videos for free without any advertisements.

Q. How is it exactly going to work?
A. The platform should have 2 different functionality.

  • one of them is something like video sharing. The video creator or content owner can share their videos on this application for free and the video can be rewarded by the community, if you like the video and want to support the creator or content owner, you can reward him with some virtual cryptocurrency “MVID” and the owner will get these rewards directly without any fees. Even you can earn money and receive these rewards by sharing your network and computer resources with the community to deliver a better video streaming quality.
  • The other side of this decentralized application is the proxied video streaming. In this platform, you can use your home network and computer to create a bridge between the community and yourself. Let’s say you are in the USA and I am in Spain, now I want to watch my American series on Netflix, but I can not do it from Spain as it is restricted, but you can use monvid platform on your computer and share your resources, I will be connected to your network and stream my videos with an American IP. There is no risk for you as the platform is only accepting streaming packets and not any others, so you as a user of the monvid platform are on the safe side. You can even make money with your unused resources.

Q. So what is exactly the differences between monvid application and others?
A. It is all decentralized, no one can censor, filter and control the traffics between the community members. The packets are all encrypted and saved on the blockchain, so no one can change them. It is not important where you are, in Russia, in China, or even in Middleeast Asia, you are not going to get censored videos or filtered content during any video streaming. You never again have to wait for any advertisements for watching your series and films. You never again have to pay a lot for using platforms like Netflix or Sky. You never again have to share your income as a content creator with any other party like Youtube.

Q. Why are you using crowdfunding for this project?
A. This is a huge project which we are working on, and all of us in the team from the owner to the developers want to have a successful project for your and our own future. This project needs a large amount of infrastructure and developments, so therefore we need to be sure we have enough supporter in the future to realize this platform. With crowdfunding, we can achieve both, the support we need for this project and also the token which we want to use for rewards and market in the future. With crowdfunding, you have the chance of being a part of a big movement. You can secure your future with investing in a great project.

Q. Do you have anything else you want to add to this interview?
A. First of all, I want to thank you for arranging these questions and this interview, and then I want to say “Thank You” to all of my team, who are supporting me and this great idea. And I would like to say another “Thank You” to all who are going to invest in this project and support monvid to change the future of video streaming!

--

--

monvid

The new decentralized video streaming platform based on Blockchain for the next generation.