I Experimented with Toy and LEGO Photography: How Exciting!

Moonpixel Creative
5 min readMar 3, 2023

--

Take a small peek into my wonderland of geek.

Do you love playing with toys as much as I do? One of my favorite hobbies is creating photographic scenes with LEGO and other toys, and then bringing them to life with some post-production magic in Photoshop.

There’s just something so satisfying about capturing the perfect shot of your favorite toys in a creative and whimsical scene. Whether it’s a superhero saving the day, a 1000-year-old wizard searching for an ancient portal, or a Tie-Fighter making a final run, the possibilities are endless.

Sure, I used to get some strange looks when people saw me setting up miniature scenes in public, but that’s just part of the fun. Who knows, you might even inspire someone else to take up toy photography as a hobby.

And the best part?

With a little bit of post-production magic in Photoshop, you can take your toy photography to the next level. Add some dramatic lighting effects, adjust the colors to create a dreamy or surreal atmosphere, or even composite your images to create an epic scene that will stun the living and the dead.

I’ve found toy photography to be a fun and creative way to unleash my imagination and share wild ideas with the world. I just wish I had more time (and money) to get all the wonderful pieces that are available!

So why not grab your camera, and your favorite toys, and start creating some magical scenes today?

And who knows, with a little bit of practice, you might just create a masterpiece that will leave everyone on your Facebook feed in awe.

I love the emotion captured in this iconic shot of the Sydney Harbor Bridge.

Honestly, it can be a great way to inject some humor into your day. Imagine creating a scene of three stormtroopers on bicycles having an accident, or setting up a scenario where your favorite stormtrooper is fighting a gladiator in a dual to the death. With a little bit of creativity and some clever post-production techniques, you can turn these simple scenes into hilarious masterpieces.

The robot pictured above was at a beautiful mossy location, but a rather bold monkey came a few minutes beforehand and stole my LEGO wizard and here I was chasing it through the tropical rainforest. This was when we lived in Penang, Malaysia (for almost 22 years!).

Now we are back in Australia, in beautiful tropical North Queensland, but no monkeys steal LEGO here! Phew.

You can buy fake snow for a few dollars! Remember, we lived in tropical Penang! No snow anywhere, ever LOL.

Smear some water on top of a glass table and make sure the table is sitting in filtered sunlight—instant lake!

This is a red capsicum cut up to represent a great snake defeated in battle and set on fire. Yeah, ya gotta use your imagination!

I was sipping coffee at Starbucks one morning and took this on my iPhone.

In painting the rust and wear with photoshop on a cheap toy that cost me around RM20 (about $7) was worth it!

I hope you enjoyed this escapade into Geekland!

www.moonpixel.co

--

--

Moonpixel Creative

☾Converting coffee into logos and websites. ☾Your product deserves to shine. ☾Celebrate your brand's uniqueness. ☾Stop by on the moon ☞Visit our planet today!