3 Months in South Africa With Hand Luggage

How to travel light, efficiently, and with proper clothes to enjoy many adventures in the South African savannah

Morena Rodriguez
4 min readSep 10, 2023
Image created in Canva using AI

In a few days, I’m traveling to South Africa for (almost) three months to manage different projects in a wildlife research center. It’s my first time in Africa, and I’m excited (and also very nervous).

I will fly with carry-on luggage and a regular backpack. With the research I’ve done and the many questions I've asked friends and strangers, I finally finished packing. I’m going to share with you my experience and some tips and hacks for future trips to South Africa or another really cool place.

First of all, the life-changing tip my best friend gave me was to buy “packing cubes”.

They are travel storage bags that include mesh packing bags, compression bags, and shoe bags. They come in different sizes and are suitable for different clothing items. They can also be used to separate dirty clothes from clean ones, dry clothes from wet ones, and to keep luggage clean and tidy.

--

--