Tutorial Brochure Reflection

A Blog Is Born
2 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Graphic novels are wildly popular with the kids at my library. I use them to encourage hesitant readers to get into stories. The visuals are engaging, and they boost reading comprehension. Graphic novels are also quick reads — or at least quicker than novels of the same page count. But, because they fly by so quickly, the kids are constantly clamoring for more, and we at the library can’t keep up with demand.

To tide them over, I’ve been trying to get them interested in Comics Plus, a service my library subscribes to which provides thousands of digital comics and graphic novels, without wait times or fees. Even though I bring it up often, I don’t have much firsthand experience with Comics Plus, so this brochure assignment seemed like a great way to refine my pitch.

I used Canva to make a 3-fold brochure. I am very familiar with Canva, but I usually rely on their pre-made templates for all my graphic design work. Choosing layouts, fonts, and colors on my own feels daunting. My personal goal this time around was to put into practice the concepts I’ve gathered from The Non-Designer’s Design Book by Robin P. Williams and to push myself to make as many independent design choices as possible.

A representation of how I felt making my own design choices

I pulled the blues from the Comics Plus logo and used them as a jumping-off point for my constrasting blue and orange color palette.

I decided to use some text bubbles to vaguely evoke a comic strip. I also had way too much fun creating a stick figure avatar, which I dubbed my “little blue friend,” to break up some of the symmetry of the brochure’s pages.

They’re a curious friend!

In the end, I had so much fun with this project. Here’s what my brochure ended up looking like:

--

--