Poem: A Morning To Persevere

Morgan Lahm
2 min readSep 16, 2022

--

Photo by eberhard 🖐 grossgasteiger on Unsplash

A Morning To Persevere

What’s been bothering me?
What’s been filling me out too early in the morning?

A bi-monthly plague
Is dawning on my little heart

Bravery builds stilts in my eyes
To see over fear’s ramparts

I persevere through an absence
I reserved for a longer future

Bravery isn’t the lack of fear
It is self-integrity crawling down your path

It is a high promise– scraping but healing
Once wounds are found

I am brave when I find pain in fond memories
I am brave when I find new people to take your place

About: This is just the first half of the poem. Didn’t want to spoil the rest. ;) I wrote this about a best friend of mine who is feeling more or less like a close friend or just a friend I talk to every now and then. It is sad, but we did talk about it, and honestly, I don’t like labels with friendships that much though I do like calling her my best friend. I still would say she is my best friend, but we have changed and things have changed. It is brave to leave a friend which is not what I did, but this poem portrays that.

--

--

Morgan Lahm

Self-love | Nature | Poetry | My poetry book is out NOW on Amazon! For more poetry :) : https://medium.com/@morganjlahm/membership