AR/VR Prototyping:

Morgan Fritz
Inborn Experience (UX in AR/VR)
10 min readApr 20, 2018

--

Take Designs from Paper to Glasses

Part II

For more on initial process and setup, refer back to my previous article, Part I.

Intro

Prototyping in Augmented Reality is a bit of a guess and check process at the moment. It can be frustrating to find the right tools and then learn how to use them. However after considerable play testing across a range of tools, I found my current prototyping process. Below is the list and process of tools I use to bring ideas into my ODG’s Smartglasses.

Keep in mind, this process caters specifically to my work as a designer at ODG for Augmented Reality. There are many tools I have not added to this list because their strengths did not cater to my work. However, as tools continue to develop and my projects change, I have no doubt my process will mature accordingly. Regardless of your specific use case, I find many of these tools universally helpful.I also suggested additional tools that may be useful for alternative use cases at each stage of prototyping.

Use in good health and I hope to continue refining this work with any and all insights and experience you care to share!

Overview

Let’s start off with a high level explanation of prototyping for AR. Below is the full chart summarizing each…

--

--