I want to follow your roads.

WriterWars Prompt B.5: “Curve ahead.”

Morgan Spatola
1 min readSep 17, 2021

Curve ahead, and smooth skin too. My finger tips trace winding roads
of blue veins and stretch marks,
a road heavily travelled by age and beauty.
I want to balance on your boulevards and tease your toll roads,
I want to pant in your parkway
and scream through your superhighway.
Curve ahead,
and another,
and another.
A perfect balance of hills and valleys that beg for tracks left in passion. You’re a route to madness, and I’m driving at breakneck speeds. I circle in your round abouts and yield to your oncoming devotion.
The course is only one way and I dare not turn back.
Curve ahead,
no bumpy roads,
no falling rocks,
but we’re falling from peaks of ecstasy, falling breathlessly,
blessedly,
desperately,
down into another underpass, a place to hide away from the world and it’s soaring traffic. I’ll travel your country roads and fresh-slick freeways and always follow you,
and always merge with you.

Written for WriterWars 2021. Check it out and see all the other writings happening! Let’s go Team Pencils!

--

--