Titilope Osuntade
4 min readMar 13, 2020

5 Things I Do These Days

So today’s Friday and a time I stay awake longer anticipating the real weekend. Viewing Friday as weekend seems fake. I just wanted to share some five random things I do these days. The context? Yeah, I’m a twenty something year old student of mechanical engineering who would most likely not look it if you see me on the street (Lol, someone would argue). Long and short, I intern somewhere and I have been having a series of “these days”, so I wanted to share about them. On a regular day, asides my important actions (getting ready for work, reading my Bible, normal house duties), I have been having new things in my daily routine:

  1. The Early Morning Decision: Every morning, these days, Titi makes critical decisions. First is whether to stand up or snooze the alarm. Hehe. Fast forward to when I’m out of the gate, I have to decide, bike or Keke? Next is, which route do we take to work today? It’s interesting that I make these decisions after careful thoughts and even prayer (yeah!). Routes to work are plenty. From Oshodi to Apapa, you can decide to take CMS>>Apapa, or Mile 2>>Apapa, or Ojuelegba>>Apapa, or if it’s a good day, a straightforward bus. Nothing is predictable, except by supernatural means (whether the distance or time). These days, mornings are adventures.
  2. The Checking of Mails, LinkedIn, WhatsApp and Others: I know I am active on social media but not as much as I have been these days. Also, it hasn’t been as productive as it is these days. Considering the stage of our life when many things are at stake, career ahead (guy, this is now really real o), love life AHEAD, stamina in faith, balancing of life, I have been trying out things and learning some things and it makes me more active on these platforms. There are also a number of responsibilities I handle via social media. So when next, you see me with my phone, ask if it’s leisure or seizure (haha… rhymes didn’t come out right, right?)
  3. Meeting New People: These days, I have probably met more people in a short time. To all other girls in engineering, how do you guys do it? For me, I am adapting relevant skills pertinent to my surroundings (Lol, I use these words when I’m nervous). For a person who likes to make friends in a situation where many people want to be your friend, it’s something serious. In the midst of all, people, these days, I have been making friends on the road and at work. Those who know can testify. I’m still marveled at how I’m quiet but not shy some days, and shy but not quiet other days. Lol… it’s my own framework
  4. Writing! And! Reading!: Yeah! It’s my favorite part of this write up. I have been writing (not on medium, lol, don’t go looking for other posts). These days, I have been writing things that just pop up in my head. The danfo drivers and conductors usually create scenes I want to make something out of, the sea while taking ferry as well, also the workplace situation is an inspiration. I love writing and I have therefore realized, I am a writer. I found out 3 years ago and I started keeping irregular diaries and writing poems and quotes (NiMechE UI press has been my major plug, also notepads on every computer or phone I used, and social media). As for reading (more of fiction, Christian write ups and more), I have read thousands of pages in the bus every day when I’m not chatting with lovely people. These days have been wonderful.
  5. Observing: Lastly, I’ve never done studying of people (including myself) so much as I have these days. I would sit and compare how I react to things now and how I used to. I would analyse why my bosses and senior colleagues do what they do, all in my head. I would compare people’s stress levels with their mode of relating with others. I will study trends of the lives of my friends and people I just know from when I was within their reach and when I got far. After all the analysis, I tend towards the fact that there’s always an excuse for people’s actions. Including my actions. Handling it well is what matters. I check my environment and see stuff that people do for a living. I imagine if they would have used other opportunities, had they been exposed. So much. I have been attending like three different types of church services because I’m not always in the same place on different weekends, I study all too. So much, really.

These days! It’s been a long time

Titilope Osuntade

Always positive | Mechanical Engineering Student | Lover of God and people | Creative writer