THE IMPORTANCE OF WRITING

Moro.
2 min readMar 7, 2016

--

‘The faintest ink is better than the strongest memory’ — Ancient Chinese proverb.

There are so many advantages of writing. I believe writing aids in remembering, thinking clearly and setting definite goals; it also brings about ideas. Using myself as an example, I noticed that when I’m receiving a lecture, writing enables me to retain the information longer than when I just listen. More so, when I write, I am less likely to lose concentration as opposed to when I am just listening passively and I can start thinking of the feast I want to go and have after lectures. Writing keeps your brain active and In my opinion, it is safe to refer to it in this context as ‘active listening.’

Some people may raise arguments like people are different, brains are different, there is something called photographic memory, e.t.c. Well, all these are true BUT no matter how photographic your memory is, it can fail you. An example is a person who suffers brain loss after getting involved in an accident. This example is self explanatory. Another example is the death of someone. The person’s memory dies with him/her but what ever the person has written lives on.

The kind of writing I am referring to here does not necessarily imply that you have to be a writer of poems or novels or intellectual articles. I am talking about writing as a habit as in ‘penning things down’ or ‘putting the pen to paper’… just writing your thoughts or writing something you want to remember or jotting down lectures.. anything at all!

Writing is good. Writing gives us an additional advantage. Writing should be encouraged. Write something today. ^_^

For more information, you can click on the link below. It’s an article I found online and it couldn’t have enumerated it any better.

HAPPY WRITING!

--

--

Moro.

I am writing because I can. Passionate about self-love.