What Makes a Sugar Mama?

Does it matter that I don’t think it’s transactional?

Octavia Morrison
7 min readJan 15, 2020
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

sugar-mama. Noun. (plural sugar mamas) An older woman who spends money on a younger person, usually in exchange for companionship and/or sexual favours.

When we first met, I didn’t know he was broke. There might have been signs but I was so smitten with him that I didn’t really pay attention to anything but how his lips moved when he spoke or how he looked at me sideways when he thought I wasn’t looking. Except I was looking at him all the time. I couldn’t take my eyes off him. And he knew it, and he loved it.

The next time we met it was more apparent that he was running low on money, for he asked me to lend him some $15. It didn’t bother me, I had some notes, it wasn’t a big deal, I would have spent it on 2 coffees at the airport without blinking.

With time, it became obvious. He was living in a flat share with a couple of other dudes, so he couldn’t invite me over. He was ashamed of it, so he avoided me for a while. He had a pattern of disappearing, so I wasn’t too worried. He had a habit of coming back too.

And I told myself, I don’t care about money.

When we first met, he blew my mind. I couldn’t tell what it was about him. He was much like my type, dark hair, dark skin, suggestive…

--

--

Octavia Morrison

If you’re always trying to be normal you will never know how amazing you can be. Sign up for my newsletter: octavia.substack.com