Mindful Moments in the Madness

Makeda Gershenson
4 min readMay 23, 2017

--

Subway Sofa | Roz Chast

I settled into the hard bench, pressing against the metal rails of the subway seats. I preferred to sit at the end, sandwiching myself between an inanimate object and another traveler. It represented a false sense of privacy to me. At least one of my sides was not pressed up against a stranger.

I pulled my latest book from my leather Diesel bag, the one my older sister had gifted me. New Yorkers and tribal-fusion dancers approved. As I flipped to a random page to begin my morning musing, I watched a woman wince as the train rails screeched from the the pressure of the heavy train, filled with hundreds of people and their sorrows, frustrations, hopes and dreams. I wondered how long she had been in the city, where she was from, where she might be traveling. A younger woman sat down beside the wincing woman and frowned, tilting her head to scowl at the cacophony of sounds streaming from another’s phone.

New Yorkers told me I’d be surprised by the types of things I’d get used to after living in the city. I appreciated the consolation but it concerned me. I didn’t want to find the screaming metal normal, feel comfortable squished between droves of people, grumble along with the masses of affected commuters, able and accustomed to avert my eyes from those in need on the streets and trains.

It’s been 7 months in the city and just a month ago, I was eagerly awaiting the impending stress of finding a new apartment. For me, I was certain the hungry apartment search would be more bearable than the towering buildings in the Financial District that brought the onset of an unfamiliar claustrophobia that made my throat constrict. Each time a helicopter buzzed through narrow corridors or blockades stopped cars from navigating the windy cobblestone streets, I wondered whether I ought to be more concerned about what could happen in a crowded city like NYC.

The train lurched to a stop at Grand Central Station and the woman hastily clutched her bag close to her heart and shuffled away, bumping shoulders as she exited the train.

Free at last.

While my skin is definitely thickening to the “quirks” of New York City, I find it useful to equip myself with some mental tools to help control the chaos of the crowded 6 train on a weekday evening.

What helps one self-soothe in challenging times like this?

  • 🌬 BREATHE 🌬

Taking deep breathes in over-crowded, sweaty environments may not sound like a helpful strategy. However, developing a practice of deep mindful breathing can support a stronger mind-body connection. Simply noticing how the breathe enters and leaves the body can shift focus toward calm and control in the chaos. You may not be able to control the turbulent timetables and construction schedules. You can, however, accept the environment and exercise some control over the experience you have while on your commute.

  • ……… CREATE PAUSES IN YOUR DAY……….

During my last Philosophy Works class, my Philosophy Tutor introduced “Wu Wei”, a significant concept in Taoism that roughly translates to “non-action” or “non-doing”. It’s natural action — no struggle or excessive effort needed. My philosophy homework for the week was to insert pauses throughout the day, consciously creating a clear ending to my various tasks.

I now can see my days full of meditation possibilities — each conscious effort a release valve that creates a little more head and heart space.

While I misspelled “Wu Wei”, my mother’s maiden name was Woo. She definitely had a “way” about her. She was a master at finding peace amidst the craziness. More on the “Woo Way” in Mathematical Meditations.

P.S. Yes, New Yorkers, those bright yellow signs that boast the Gift of Happiness do offer an amazing thought-provoking 10-week introductory philosophy course for just $10.

  • CONNECT WITH YOUR SURROUNDINGS

Take a moment to search for a beautiful pattern in the architecture of the massive system that transports millions of people daily. Keep an eye out for a kind act performed by a fellow commuter or the grin of an over-stimulated young child. Find the pure joy of a personal dance party you weren’t invited to.

  • SET YOUR INTENTION

Where are you going? Why are you going there? Zoom out and mentally connect with your day’s purpose.

I’m on my way to school site for an after-school professional development.

Why? 😒 Because I need to pay exorbitant rent. 💸

Why else? Because I remember how challenging being in a classroom was and I love supporting teachers. 👩🏾‍🏫 👨🏽‍🏫 👩🏽‍🏫 👨🏻‍🏫 👨🏼‍🏫 👩🏻‍🏫

Why else? Because I enjoy the flexibility of education consulting. 📅 📚 🗂

Why else? 🗣🤝👥 Because my position allows me to explore the city with destinations where I learn more and more about humanity through conversations with people from varied backgrounds all in service of the students.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Take a moment to consider where in your commute you could put a moment of rest.

P.S. Does anyone know the significance of the green diamond-shaped bullet versus and circular bullet on the 6?

--

--

Makeda Gershenson

Founder of Mosaics in the Making | Facilitator & Trainer | Mindfulness & EQ Educator | https://linktr.ee/m0saicbymak3da