Being Perfect and Finding Self-Love

Motivo
3 min readMay 24, 2018

--

by Greg Higgins

Why not write a blog when it’s something I am far from perfect at? In the attempt to practice giving up on being perfect, I will share some of my experience. The article in Medical News Today, Why self-love is important and how to cultivate it” shares how important self-love is and some steps we can take to improve our life. I spent a lot of my life with a strong desire to be perfect. I’m not sure exactly where I got it from. My best guess is my family system.

You would be “perfect” if you could become a professional at self-love overnight. Since this is not possible, how do you improve on “Self-Love?” I’ve found that having people in my life that naturally remind me of how awesome I can be, leads me closer. The more I’m able to listen to those people and believe, the more I am able to tell myself those same messages. It’s through practicing daily that able to feel the results of self-compassion.

I find this quote from Ana Sandoiu comforting and freeing. “…happiness is something that you’re entitled to, not something that you need to earn.”

Being intentional about mindfulness can be a great addition to your life. Find or create the space in your life for reflection, mindfulness, or meditation. Ana Sandoiu and I agree Yoga with Adrienne is a great option. What are some other helpful tips for self-love?

I believe we all have plenty of negative tapes that play in our head. How do we change the tapes with self-compassion? Remember what you’re loving friends tell you or affirm you? What do they say? What can you add to their positive message about yourself? Do you believe it? Finding belief and practicing daily leads you on a journey towards self-love.

Why does self-love matter?

From the article, Ana Sandoiu shares:

“Studies have shown that perfectionists are at a higher risk of several illnesses, both physical and mental, and that self-compassion might free us from its grip. Therefore, perfectionism and self-compassion are inextricably linked.”

Each person’s roadmap looks a little different. Find one new idea or tool to practice daily. Remember part of “practice” is understanding you will not always get it perfect. Give yourself the self-love you deserve today.

As Motivo’s Director of Customer Experience, Greg is in charge of making your experience as smooth, simple, and satisfying as possible. With a background in branding and design and a passion for building caring cultures and authentic communities, he spearheads our website’s look, feel, and functionality, and manages our customer support system, listening well to pair you with the very best clinical supervisor to fit your needs. He’s also one of the friendliest, most chill guys we’ve ever met, so there’s that. Follow Greg on social @brewlyinspired

--

--

Motivo

Online Clinical Supervision for Mental Health Professionals. wearemotivo.com