WAX ON, WAX OFF

Freedasia Motley
4 min readAug 7, 2018

--

What better way to start your summer by removing unwanted hair in a quick and easy way. Shaving can be a hassle and the battle wounds that you receive from it defeats all your hard work. I even tried the less scarring hair removing lotions such as Nair and Veet, which both have a very distinguished and offensive smell no matter how much they try to camouflage it with cucumber and lavender scents. After using it, you’ll pretty much be smooth yet left smelling rotten, similar to a hard-boil egg. Girl, is that you? Never thought about it that way, right? My girlfriend who live-by Brazilian everything, Brazilian hair bundles, Brazilian steakhouse, and the most recent Brazilian waxes introduced me to this new lifestyle and I must say that I am hooked. It’s the summer time so before I head over to the beach or the pool sporting an itty bitty teeny-weeny bikini, I had to make a visit to European Wax.

I walked into the brightly lit facility and was greeted by a cheery, blonde haired receptionist. As I signed in, she informed that Ally would be with me very shortly and that she was finishing up with another client. I took a seat in their soft cushiony red sofa after I helped myself to the complimentary lemon and cucumber infused water. How refreshing. As soon as I began to get comfortable, the door opened and two ladies were walking out chatting about the session, one was a customer like me and the other was Ally. Ally, although she was smiling had a very stern face. Nervousness begin to build up and all I could think was this lady is going to rip my skin off. I thought about turning around and walking out the door, but I stayed because I would’ve been charged for the service anyway being that I had already pass the cancellation time. So, I followed Ally down the long hallway of closed doors and approached an empty room with a bed that had a sheet folded on it. Ally instructed me to take off my bottoms and lay down and then she proceeded to exit the room. I undressed and wrapped in the sheet, at the same moment ally knocked and entered the room. She explained to me how the session would go and answered every horrific question that I asked. She began the process and brought on the pain full force. She explained that the first strip is more painful than the others and that I would eventually get used to. Getting used to pain, is beginning to seem like the story of my life when it comes to getting dolled up. Beginning to feel less like Barbie and more like bride of chucky.

Overall, the experience was good. I feel the end results disappointed me because the way social media and magazines glorify the way your vagina would look and feel after the process. Ally had to explain to me that everybody’s hair is different, of course. Some peoples’ hair is all gone on their first time if the hair is finer & if its coarser, stubborn hairs are going to stick around. I have stubborn hairs, so I felt for that amount of pain I could just shave. The whole session was about 30 dreadful minutes & the worst part was the inner lips. The best part was the butt hole because it was quick and less painful. Now, once you get a wax you’re not to shave after because that can cause ingrown hairs and the hairs will be thicker than last time. Every appointment is to scheduled every 3 to 4 weeks, the receptionist scheduled my next wax for 3 weeks being she didn’t want me to get annoyed with the little hairs & shave. Ally advised me to grab their ingrown hair serum from the front and I love it! It smells so good and its also very inexpensive. My session cost a total of $56. How amazing I looked in my bikini was priceless.

European Wax Center, $50 for basic wax service
NAIR Hair Remover Lotion, $7.99 at your local drug store

--

--

Freedasia Motley

Girl, is that you spending an excess of money just to pamper yourself? I know it's many of us that share these humorous sometimes treacherous stories.