Irikumi and Sakuma from Gibo

Motobu Chōki’s Kumite Master

Motobu Naoki
5 min readJun 8, 2024

--

I explained a little about irikumi (入り組) last year in an article in the March 2021 issue of “Monthly Hiden,” but in this article I will explore this theme a little further.

As far as I know, the only use of the word irikumi in prewar documents is in Motobu Chōki’s exclusive roundtable discussion, “Interviews with Respected Elder Bushi, Choki Motobu Regarding Real Self-Defense — (Jissen) Episodes” (1936).

Among all these instructors, the two with whom I was closest and shared emotional bonds with were Matsumora from Tomari, and Sakuma from Shuri.

I was scolded a great deal during my training with them. However, Sakuma Sensei taught me a lot by both, complimenting me at times and scolding me at others. I started to get real ability and competence by practicing irikumi with him, and thus began to treat my friends like small children.

Sakuma Sensei refers to Sakuma from Shuri Gibo. In “My Art and Skill of Karate” (1932), he writes:

But since I was bullied by my elder brother (Motobu Chōyū) every time, I’ve been constantly thinking about how I could possibly win against him. In the end, since (practicing with) Itosu Sensei alone wasn’t enough, and I was not satisfied with it, I went to study under Sakuma Sensei from Gibo and Matsumura Sensei. (p. 35)

--

--

Motobu Naoki

Shihan, Motobu Kenpō 7th dan, Motobu Udundī 7th dan. Discusses the history of karate and martial arts, and introduces Japanese culture and history.