Final Evaluation Report- KWoC 2018

Moulik Aggarwal
2 min readJan 15, 2019

--

About KWoC

Kharagpur Winter of Code is a 5-week long online programme for students who are new to open source software development. The programme not only helps students to get involved in open source but also prepares them for many open source summer programmes; Google Summer of Code is one of them.

About Me

My Name is Moulik Aggarwal. I am a pre-final year student pursuing B.Tech from Amity University Rajasthan. I am an Open Source Contributor as well as Web Developer and Preparing of GSoC’19. I work on FERN ( Firebase, Express, ReactJS, NodeJS).

How did I start Contributing in Open Source?

I started contributing regularly from October when Hacktoberfest is started then I got another chance to contribute in good and growing projects this winter by NJACK by IIT Patna and KWoC by IIT Kharagpur.

There were many projects this year in KWoC 2018 but I can work on only two projects with just 2 Pull Requests.

My Contributions in KWoC

The major projects that I worked upon were, Google Assistant Slack and Social Platform Donut.

About Donut

Donut is an Open Source Social Networking Hub which acts as a bridge between various Developers, Organisations and Open Source aspirants to elaborate on various things like #Projects, #Events, #Discussion on various researches, #Scholarships, #Coding release, and various other things updates. The more priority of this project has been that this platform allows users to make their project “Open Sourced” and released them under various open SOurce Organisations, Experts which holds up a ring plate on this portal. This platform also makes users introduce and develop various solutions in the form of FOSS software to publish them for people use by integrating them with their social cause. Moreover, this project can be downloaded by any User, Organisation and can be used by them in their own custom way, making it run on their servers. It is built on Node.js and utilizing mongoose as the database.

#1 Contribution- SignIn using Facebook

I created a Facebook Sign In using the passport.
Issue: https://github.com/codeuino/Social-Platform-Donut/issues/33
Pull Request: https://github.com/codeuino/Social-Platform-Donut/pull/35

About Google Assistant Slack

A Google Assistant, but on Slack. It allows you to search Google, fetch the date, look up GIFs, and more. More features are in the works.

#2 Contribution- Updated NPM package

I didn’t get more idea for creating a new feature for the Assistant but first thing first I love to have a project with the latest packages installed. So, I have used npm-check to update the packages.

Issue: https://github.com/MatejMecka/GoogleAssistantSlack/issues/16
Pull Request: https://github.com/MatejMecka/GoogleAssistantSlack/pull/17

Conclusion

I want to thank the mentors of flowing projects for their guidance in this project. It was a great learning experience for me. I want to thank IIT KGP for conducting this beginner friendly program. This program helped me to learn what open source projects are and how to contribute to them.

Connect with me

LinkedIn- https://www.linkedin.com/in/moulik-aggarwal-5a499480/
GitHub- https://github.com/moulikcipherX

--

--