OK cover letters ! harassed now ..

Mouna Ben Hmida
3 min readNov 21, 2017

about looking for graduation internship I am talking

It was not as easy as I thought

As a final year engineering student , I should look for a graduation internship . 4 months or more project within an IT company is a necessity to get my diploma.

until now , I sent forty-nine applications . the result : four acknowledgments of receipt , two refusal and one single interview . I got these seven interactions after my first 40th applications .

Let’s give a deep sight

After 8 applications , I discovered that my resume and cover letter contain so much language errors . After the 17th , I recognized that my resume is full with unnecessary informations . After 23rd , the email body contains a misconstructed sentence. And finally the 40th , my photo in the resume .. The attached photo is one of the most important factors to judge your resume. In fact HR judges your application in 30 seconds . if the photo don’t give a good impression , he rejects the application . So , be careful when choosing the photo . avoid photos which give bad impressions about your personality ( introversion , nerdy look..) . and of course avoid selfies and duck’s mouth.

Recruiters behaviour makes the mission harder and harder

looking for internship stress is weakening me. why don’t recruiters make the mission easier? So, they can send an automatic reply to tell us of the situation of application form . if they still collecting applications or at least if the application is refused . I do not ask a lot. Gmail and other mailing servers afford tools to make responding easier as group mailing or automatic reply . In the period of applications collection , they can setup the automatic reply to send acknowledgment of receipt and ensure sender that they will respond as soon as decision made .

after the deadline , they can fix the reply to tell the sender that the time is over but they will keep his resume for the next opportunity.

These simple steps can ease the student/unemployed pain and decrease his stress level

Recruiters force stupid tasks

I am so curious to know the genius who invented the concept of cover letter . Despite they know it’s a big lie, recruiters oblige job seekers to write a formal one. A copy pasted letter saved somewhere in the PC in .docx file is ready to be update according to necessities . The same dead letter get updated every time to be suitable with the company requirements .
In my case , I change only technologies , the company name and address and the date of sent.
Not it stupid ?? I know but I have to do
If I were a recruiter, I would only ask for a personalized paragraph , a small one, where the candidate introduces himself and describes what he is waiting from the internship.

It would be more awesome , more creative and especially more effective

Call to action ..

If you are a talent acquisition director and you are reading my blog post , I invite you to think again about “interaction with candidates” issues
Upgrading manners will afford a significant impact on your company brand and of course his future.

I’m Mouna , a junior IT developer , I love sharing with people lessons from life , knowledge and thoughts .

before leaving , please click “claps” and share with us your own experience

--

--