Suburbicon review

Patrick Snipes
1 min readOct 27, 2017

--

Written by Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, George Clooney, Grant Heslov
Directed by George Clooney
Distributor: Paramount Pictures
My Rating: 4/4

I’ve enjoyed films by the Coen brothers since I saw Fargo at probably too young an age. The first one I had the opportunity to see at the theater was Burn After Reading, which will always crack me up.

Critics have been harsh on this one, the first Coen brothers script to be directed by George Clooney, saying he has a clumsy tone. I’ve always enjoyed films that have abrupt tone shifts, as I will admit this one has. But when it’s funny it’s really funny, and when it’s intense it’s really intense.

Paramount released this soon after mother!, another divisive film. I really enjoy the direction that Paramount is going.

--

--