An Interview with AJ Locascio, the Voice of Prince Lotor -

Jay Snook
4 min readAug 6, 2017

--

© netflix

Voltron Legendary Defender is on its third season now. A lot has changed in this time. An old villain was defeated, and a new one rises up in his place. The team has gone through some changes as well. I was able to interview AJ Locascio, the voice of Prince Lotor, and here is what he told me about this new villain.

© Netflix

So how did you hear about this part?

AJ Locascio: Well, it is a pretty boring answer. My agent sent me the audition and that was kind of it. I was aware of Voltron long before. I was aware of this show long before the audition. That was because I was auditioning for Keith and Lance and all that. Like four years ago, or something. So I wanted to be a part of it. But there wasn’t any opportunities until I got this Lotor audition.

How did you build your version of Prince Lotor?

AJ Locascio: I kind of looked at some images online. But I didn’t want to have the original voice actors voice in my head when I was auditioning. So I avoided it until just after I did the audition. I read what the description was and thought of a voice I would like to do. Sort of like, what would be a fun voice that matches the description of this guy. It was the scene in the gladiator ring. I was like, ‘Oh this is a big personality with a lot of fun quirks’. So I just went with something that I enjoy.

© Netflix

What is your favorite part in getting to voice Prince Lotor?

AJ Locascio: Well, my favorite part about voicing him is I love the cast. I love getting to sit in the room with everyone and joke around. But about specifically voicing him, he gets to say some really cool stuff. He does so many speeches and he rallies people together. It is so much fun to get to do something that is so epic. Plus, hes got an incredible emotional range. He’s all over the place. So it is nice to be something that feels so authentic and real and pretty.

What would you say is your biggest challenge in voicing Prince Lotor?

AJ Locascio: The Sci-Fi words. There are a ton of words that don’t exist in our language. That I have to constantly be reminded that “Oh, you say it like this”. And I am like “Oh, okay”. That is easily the biggest challenge. Cause I will have a whole speech or something, and half of it are words that don’t really exist outside of the Voltron universe. That can be a bit tricky, and also pretty funny.

© Netflix

Now that season 3 has aired, what do you think was the most pivotal Prince Lotor moment?

AJ Locascio: I mean, that reveal. You know, coming into the world and revealing himself. It was a pretty big deal. The fact that he is now a player as opposed to off wherever he was. That alone is pretty enormous.

© Netflix

Why do you think people should watch this season of Voltron Legendary Defender?

AJ Locascio: Because Prince Lotor is in it, and oh boy, he’s the best. I think this is going to be a real change for the Paladins. This is something they have not faced before. I feel like the training wheels are off now. They are going to have to deal with someone on a much more psychological level, especially now that Shiro is gone. Everything is thrown off. This is a very intense season. It brings everything to a whole nother level that we haven’t seen them face before. The show is already incredible but plussing it like this, it’s perfection.

Voltron Legendary Defender Season 3 is available on Netflix now. You can follow this show on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Originally published at goodmenproject.com on August 6, 2017.

--

--

Jay Snook

A writer and reviewer of TV shows, movies, video games and books. He has a BA in Journalism and a minor in Film Studies from Sacramento State