Empowering Asian Mums for Equal Parenting

Mothers bearing the burden

MoymonaB
5 min readDec 30, 2023
Photo by Adrien Taylor on Unsplash

My father died when I was young and my mother never re-married. This is based on my observations of Bangladeshi families around me.

Each Asian community is diverse, and cultural norms can vary. In general, men are the providers which is a key factor that contributes to the traditional division of parental roles.

In Bangladesh, girls thrive in education but very few are allowed to work. I asked my relatives why they educate girls and was told it improves marriage prospects. Ratio and proportions are handy in cooking!

It is up to the husband (sometimes influenced by his family) whether she continues to study or seeks employment. There is no concession in household duties for working mums.

In Bangladesh, men are usually not in the room with their wives during birth. They refrain from fear of ridicule. There is a derogatory term for men who openly support their wives, display affection, or do household chores.

New fathers sleep in a separate room. If this is not possible, the mother steps out of the room to soothe the baby. Fathers are rarely seen caring for the infant. They may hold the baby for short periods when the baby is in good spirits.

--

--

MoymonaB

3x boosted writer. I just talk and 😂 a lot. People around me are chuckling. I hope they’re not laughing at me!