Michael campbell
4 min readNov 18, 2017

--

So, I got the new iPhone X. Did the preorder, got it on the 3rd. I’ve had it for 2 weeks and here’s my two cents.

Design

The design of the iPhone X is 10 years in the making and the best iPhone if not the best smartphone in the market!! I wanted to wait but I became one of the early adopters. The iPhone 8 Plus is a 4 year design and the iPhone X is the first of it’s kind with Apple. The first few days were definitely a change without the use of the home button and touch id but you get used the gestures and Face ID really quick.

The all screen display with the glass back and stainless steel bands are premium and high end compared to other smartphones in the market. Apple said that the glass is the twice as durable than last years iPhone 7 and 7 plus and this years competitors. The feel in the hand, it’s super comfortable. It weighs a bit more and is thicker than the 7 plus, but you wouldn’t notice it that much unless you’re coming from an iPhone 6 or 7. The power button is a bit bigger but I like it because it’s easier to reach one-handed. I purchased the space grey version. It’s stainless steel bands are darker than the silver and I like the color difference. It’s more of an all seamless design going from front to back.

Display

It’s all screen, I mean all screen glass display. The notch is something to deal with but you forget about it after the first few days of use. The use of HDR, True Tone, the 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio, and 2436 by 1135 screen resolution is amazing. It’s really, something to see in person. The OLED display comes from Samsung, but I’m not complaining. The blacks are the blackest the blacks have ever been black. The wide color gamut is sensational and makes watching movies an experience with Dolby Vision. The Super Retina HD display is without a doubt the most beautiful display on any smartphone I’ve ever owned. Watching videos on Youtube in 1440p or 1080p 60fps is just super smooth and impressive. They take up the whole screen and display when you watch zoomed in. It does cut off a few heads and some text, but Youtube has done some updates to fix that.

Face ID is the technology of the future. You raise to wake, tap the screen, or hit the power button and it’s unlocked. It’s that quick, but I’m not saying it’s touch id quick. You still have to give it your attention, look straight at it or it won’t unlock but who’s not looking at their iPhone when they’re using it. Apple Pay is super easy, logging in to websites or Facebook is fast. You won’t notice that it’s unlocked after swiping up because you’re already in. It’s ridiculous how much technology is packed in the notch, but the notch is there because of Face ID. Animoji’s is the best feature of Face ID. They’re fun to use to send stickers and videos. They make messaging that much more fun. It’s crazy that they map your face to have emotions, funny faces, and talk to each other with the use of Face ID.

Camera

The camera on the iPhone X is the best that’s ever been on an iPhone. The back of the iPhone has two optically stabilized 12 megapixel cameras. An f/1.8 wide angle lens and f/2.4 telephoto lens. The camera takes amazing low light photos. As well as, using the 4k60fps video mode. It’s super smooth and just a pleasure to watch your own home movies in 4k. The True Tone 7 megapixel camera on the front is also great. It takes awesome portrait mode photos along with using the new portrait lighting mode. I’m getting used to the portrait lighting mode as it’s not something I’ll use everyday. Other than that I think that both front and back cameras are better than the iPhone 7 plus which I had before the X.

This photo is from an art crawl two weeks ago. It shows off the low light function of the rear camera. It was really dark in the studio with the only light coming from a nearby window.
This is a great example of low light and portrait mode working together to get an amazing photo of my friend.

Battery

The battery life on the iPhone X is ok. It doesn’t last as long as the Plus but it’s good for the size the iPhone is. I picked up the Mophie Charge Force Wireless Charging Base for 39.99. I love the Qi/Wireless charging feature because it’s awesome to just lay your iPhone down on a charging pad and go cook, do makeup, or listen to music in the shower while it’s charging. It performs well but it should include a fast charger in the box to make it fast wireless charging. The battery drains a lot when you’re watching or making 4k videos, but that’s normal everyday use. Just carry a portable charger with you and it fixes your problems.

Conclusion

The iPhone X as a whole is an awesome computer in your pocket. It’s display could be award winning with OLED and HDR technology. Face ID and the display are the best features of the iPhone X. I didn’t see me liking it as much as I do but it’s such an attractive device I just can’t get it out of my hand. For a $1,000 device, it’s really worth all the features and technology they packed into the iPhone. I’m going on a trip soon to the beach so I’ll use my camera alot and post photos of my trip so look out for a post. Like I’ve said before it’s the best iPhone Apple has created

Michaelpcampbell1125@gmail.com

www.facebook.com/michaelpcampbell1125

--

--