What is a Maintenance Day (in short)

Martijn Keesmaat
1 min readSep 28, 2019

--

Every Sunday is my maintenance day. You group all of your “maintenance tasks” together and do them on the maintenance day. This process can also be called batching.

“Think about the way you do laundry. You don’t just take every single dirty piece of clothing you have and put in into the washing machine, right? Instead, you wait for enough clothes to pile up, and then you wash them.” — Metalearners

This is a perfect example of batching, where you gather all similar tasks and do them all at once. By completing them this way, you can maximize your focus on one type of task over a period of time, and therefore greatly increase your productivity on that particular job.

Here is what I do

  • Clean my room and work environment
  • Clean inboxes (Mail, Chrome bookmarks, Social media)
  • Plan the upcoming week
  • Prepare meals

Further watching: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghVdzAeX0bg, https://alifeofproductivity.com/maintenance-day/

This article is part of my 168 series

Each week has 168 hours. I have the ability to choose to make the most out of these hours. However, I often regret how I spend my time. How can I give more to those things I value and less to those I don’t?

--

--

Martijn Keesmaat

Developing my world view every day. It is about finding your morals and philosophy as an individual. Everybody has their perspective. Here is mine.