The Clock is Ticking…Are You Winning?

MAGDALENA PONURSKA
3 min readJun 19, 2023

--

The clock chimes. It’s five in the afternoon, and I’m staring at a to-do list that seems just as long as it was in the early hours of the morning. The day, once fresh and full of promise, has turned into an ugly jumble of urgent emails, unanticipated emergencies, and half-done tasks.

In this moment of quiet frustration, a question sneaks into my mind like a curious visitor: “To manage time, or not to manage, that is the question?” Is it a matter of simply needing to organize myself better? Or is there something more fundamental at play?

When I first ventured into the world of consulting, I drank the productivity Kool-Aid like everyone else. I fell in love with the seductive promise of time management — the idea that we could parcel our hours and minutes into neat little boxes and march through the day with mechanical efficiency. If only I had enough discipline, enough willpower, and enough systems, I thought, I could control my time. And if I could control my time, I could control my life.

I filled my calendar with color-coded blocks, squeezing in every meeting, every task, every break. I kept a close watch on my smartphone, ready to fend off any unexpected interruption. I became a slave to the ticking clock, believing that I could bend time to my will.

But here’s the brutal truth I’ve discovered: Time management is a myth. A comforting, attractive myth, yes. But a myth nonetheless.

Time, you see, is a wild and untamable beast. You can try to chain it, cage it, control it, but it will always break free. It’s unpredictable. An unexpected phone call, a sudden illness, a global pandemic — all reminders that time is not within our control.

But that’s not the end of the story. While we cannot manage time, we can manage ourselves. This distinction, though subtle, is absolutely vital.

Consider this: we all have the same 24 hours in a day, yet some people achieve more than others. Are they better at managing their time? Or are they better at managing themselves within the constraints of time?

Self-management is about understanding our own rhythms and needs. It’s about knowing when we are most productive, when we need a break, when we need to dig deep and push through. It’s about setting realistic expectations, establishing clear boundaries, and developing the resilience to navigate the unexpected.

Self-management is also about understanding our priorities. Instead of trying to do everything, we should focus on doing the right things. After all, being busy isn’t the same as being productive. We need to learn to say “no” to the unimportant, so we can say “yes” to the truly meaningful.

So, to manage time or not to manage? That’s the wrong question. The real question is, how can we manage ourselves in the face of time’s relentless march?

In my journey, I’ve learned that the freedom I was seeking wasn’t in mastering time, but in mastering myself. The true challenge is not to manage the clock, but to manage the person reflected in the mirror each morning.

Time won’t slow down, it won’t wait, and it won’t be controlled. But we can control how we respond to it, how we engage with it, and how we make the most of the fleeting moments it gifts us.

In the end, it’s not about controlling time. It’s about controlling ourselves, embracing the unpredictability, and learning to dance with the wild, untamed beast that is time. Because when we stop trying to manage time and start managing ourselves, we don’t just get more done — we create a life that truly matters.

--

--

MAGDALENA PONURSKA

I train leaders and teams in sustainable leadership by blending the science of strengths, psychological insights, and heart-focused strategies for success.