Today wasn’t the best day at the office

(Tomorrow will be)

Warcos
The Unlisted

--

I’m UX/UI Designer, working at Asana.

For some reason in the middle of the day I became a bit sullen and couldn’t get anything done. Is not the first time that this has happened to me. And I hope it won’t be the last. Let me explain…

The main reason was feedback about a UI feature I came across, and was convinced it to be the best solution for a necessity in the product. The feedback wasn’t negative; it focused on the point of the necessity itself:

Is this going to help users? Do we need it in the product? Is it the best solution?

I’m a feedback junkie. I want to know what everyone thinks about my proposal, and usually I try to please everyone, although I know that’s nearly impossible. Solving every use case with a single, simple, smart idea is very hard, but knowing all the points of view helps a lot.

I’ve heard a lot of feedback from colleagues who seem to have opposite opinions on this particular matter (they might be in favor or against the solution, but that doesn’t mean their goal isn’t the same). I love to hear that, because they move me away from my pre-established ideas, and make me see the same problem from different perspectives. They are some of the most talented people I’ve ever met, and their intention is to deliver the best possible product; so I hold their feedback very high.

Whenever I show designs to the Product Team I’m hoping that they’ll say they love it, but the fact is that getting “negative” feedback pushes the designs forward, and raises the concepts and ideas to a whole new level every single time.

Tomorrow when I get to the office I’ll be happy, because with all that feedback I’ll build something better.

--

--

Warcos
The Unlisted

Product Designer. I write about design, UX/UI, and clothes.