Growth Vs. Fixed Mindset

Mike Kracl
3 min readJul 10, 2016

--

I must admit, before this week’s assigned blog post, I’d never heard of these ideals. The focus for the blog this week is on my perspective in regards to these two ideas, and what mindset I see in myself. My blog will be broken into two separate parts, part one will be about educators as a whole, and part two will be what I see in myself.

To me the most amazing thing about being a teacher is the opportunity to interact not only with my students, but with my colleagues on a daily basis. Growth mindset vs. fixed mindset has definitely opened my eyes to the different ways that teachers interact with students. According to Jeff Dunn, there are people who at stubborn to learning to things, and they think that their current understanding of a topic is “sufficient”. For educators, I feel like you can think of a teacher in your building, possibly even yourself, who doesn’t like to step out of their comfort zone. These fixed mindset types of teachers are the same teachers who use the same plan book year in and year out. I’m guessing you can all think of someone who fits that description. Now, does that mean that they aren’t as effective? To me, no, that doesn’t mean that he/she cannot be amazing at what they do and provide students with a great amount of learning and opportunity, because in the end, just because you have your mindset figured out, doesn’t mean that all of your students have theirs just yet. I see these teachers as the type who show up and do what is necessary for the students in their classrooms, they may give more lecture and notes in class. To me, this is perfectly alright because it’s their strength.

“Growth Mindset believe that intelligence can be developed, that the brain is like a muscle that can be trained.” Growth mindset is the belief that with practice and hard work, you can develop your intelligence. I believe that a great deal of teachers, specifically at a younger age, push for this in their students. I see myself as a growth mindset type of person. I feel this because in my own experiences in school, nothing, except for writing, ever really came very easily to me. I always had to work really hard, push myself, and grow as a student and human being. I firmly believe that anything you set your mind to, and you put in the work, you can become, but it doesn’t come without sacrifice and work.

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/growth-mindset-common-core-math-cindy-bryant

As a teacher, I’ve had students that were “just smart” and things came easy to them. 5th grade for a lot of students is a change in regards to course material and in the natural progression of things, harder content. My team and I talk often about students who teachers describe as “naturally smart” and “gifted” come into 5th grade and struggle in areas they aren’t used to struggling. Yet, when asked about homework and practicing skills at home, the families tell us that they haven’t really had to practice math facts, or study for science before. You quickly see students who seemed to have a fixed mindset, “begin to feel insecure”, when things aren’t coming as easily. Whereas, a student who is willing to put in the work and do the hard work, find success, and they get excited about seeing their efforts pay off. It’s been my experience that when things start getting more difficult, students with a growth mindset are willing to work harder, and the fixed mindset students, don’t really change their efforts.

As I mentioned before, for me personally, growth mindset is how I see myself. I know this because thinking back to all of the challenges I faced as a student myself, and the fact that according to a few tests (specifically the ACT) I shouldn’t have ever gotten into college. I shouldn’t have graduated towards the top of my class. I shouldn’t be in a master’s program. And I shouldn’t be writing this blog for that class. Without the mindset of hard work pays off. I’d not be here, doing what I do and love today.

--

--

Mike Kracl

The thoughts and opinions shared on this blog are mine and mine alone. They do not represent the school district I work for in any way.