Life in 10 tracks #10: Stardust— Music Sounds Better With You

The multiplier effect of music on friendships

Martin Gale
2 min readApr 22, 2024

The last one of what I suspect will be the first ten tracks(!)

Apologies it’s taken me a while to finally finish this list off, but it’s been a busy time and as usual I have more ideas than I have time and focus. Nonetheless we got there.

My last one is perhaps fittingly about my love of music, and its influence on my friendships. So many of my long term friendships are soundtracked by the music playing when we’ve done things together that I know what they’ll be thinking when they hear it.

I’ve also found that when I meet someone who genuinely loves music, the connection is deeper and faster than it otherwise would be. Musical taste is deeply personal, and what you like to listen to says more about you on an emotional level than words ever could.

This is particularly true if you have music tastes in common, and you have first-hand experience of the visceral reaction particular songs have on their listener. A nostalgic chat about the soundtrack to one’s university days, say, means that you don’t just hear the anecdotes, you can feel them. I always think when you’re talking to someone about music from days gone by, the bit of you from that time in your life is talking to the corresponding bit of them. And that is a magical shared experience.

So if we’re old friends who just look at each other and know when a certain song plays, or we’re just music trainspotters together, this post is to tell you how much I value that connection.

I feel like,
The music sounds better with you.

--

--