Life in 10 tracks #2: Kings of Tomorrow — Finally

Seek the joy of finding yourself, however old you are

Martin Gale
1 min readFeb 13, 2024

One of my all-time favourite tracks for lots of reasons so I procrastinated a little as to which particular element of life I wanted to apply this to.

For those unfamiliar, this was one of the stand-out tracks of the Ibiza scene in 2001, which just so happened to be the first time I went there. It also marked a complete turnaround in my personal life and set me on a course that led me to meeting my now wife around a year later. For good measure, it’s also something of an anthem for nostalgic clubbers and I still play it regularly. So lots of reasons to pick it.

I’m actually not going to pick on a nostalgic reason for choosing it though.

The song is about meeting one’s soul mate, but the words actually trigger feelings about self discovery.

So tell me how do you do,
Finally I meet you,
You don’t know what I’ve been through,
Waiting and wondering about you…

It’s the song that always comes into my mind when I think back to last May when I received my ADHD diagnosis and at age 45 I finally (no pun intended) began to accept and properly get to know myself.

So the moral of this track is if you are struggling with identity in some way, keep going and keep searching.

Self-discovery one of life’s real joys and comforts.

--

--