Life in 10 tracks #5: Lou Reed — Perfect Day

Being married to my best friend

Martin Gale
1 min readFeb 15, 2024

There are some people in your life that you meet and you know when you do that your life won’t be the same again.

I met Helen about a couple of weeks after my twenty-fifth birthday when we both worked at IBM. We actually got married three years to the day after we first went for coffee at work. I always knew we were going to get married because I could never see a way I would ever want to be without her.

We actually heard a version of this track filtering out of the restaurant of our hotel on our first holiday when we were sat on the beach outside.

There were some particular words that we both felt particularly.

It’s such a perfect day, I’m glad I spent it with you.

Kind of obvious.

Just a perfect day, you made me forget myself.

She’s still the only person who can ever snap myself out of my worry and overthinking.

You’re going to reap just what you sow.

We both felt that each other were our rewards for trying to be good people through the various ups and downs we’d experienced prior to meeting.

Always makes me cry when I hear it.

--

--