Life in 10 tracks #6: D:Ream — UR The Best Thing

The importance of finding my true passion

Martin Gale
2 min readFeb 16, 2024

It’s so important to have a “thing”, a personal passion that truly nourishes your soul. Some people would say it’s their career, and that’s fine though I’m quite specifically thinking of something you do not for financial reward but just because it makes you feel good inside.

Regular readers have probably worked out that mine is my music. Whilst both my parents were into music, it was my dad’s “thing” too. My formative years and time with my dad were largely focused on us doing musical things together — recording the Top 40 on a Sunday afternoon, going crate-digging, looking at hi-fi equipment or just playing records together.

At different stages of my life my music has playing greater or lesser prominence in my life as other things have taken my focus. In particular in my late twenties and thirties my DJing gradually became something I used to do, as career, houses and life in general took over. I also started to feel too old, like it wasn’t for me any more. It made me feel so sad inside, but I could never bear to part with any of my records or gear.

I was very aware of there being something missing, so I tried a few things, including running which was great, and I made many great friends but it wasn’t my thing in the same way it was for some of my running buddies. I needed something more.

Then at my fortieth birthday party, my friend DJing indulged me and I played a little set. I suddenly felt alive again inside. It was like someone putting a jigsaw piece in I didn’t realise was missing.

I’ve not stopped since, and I think I’ll safely say I can’t see myself stopping again.

In the words of the track:

You are the best thing I’ve ever had,
A kind of feeling I’ve been searching for at last,
You are the best thing see me through,
I never thought that any love could be so true.

By the way, that David Morales version I’ve linked is one of my favourite remixes of his, and I still play it at gigs now.

--

--