Running (debugging) a bash script line-by-line

An Rodriguez
1 min readFeb 17, 2020

--

Run you bash script line-by-line using this technique.

The other day I was running a Bash script. It wasn't working as expected so it needed some debugging.

I needed a quick-and-dirty solution.

After some googling, I found this answer. It ended up being quite easy and handy.

All you have to do is place this line on the top of your script and Bash will prompt you after executing every line. Hitting enter key is enough to execute the next line of your script.

It is reported that this works with bash v4.2.8 and v3.2.25.

For me, it worked like a charm.

Here is the original answer in stackoverflow.

Do you have other tips for debugging Bash? I’d like to know.

--

--

An Rodriguez

Yet another self-appointed dialectical logicist, coder, fundamental physicist, artist, and dad, among others. More about me: https://about.me/anrodriguez