Timelessness of modern Russia. Documentary cycle of photos

It's enough to drive a hundred kilometers from Moscow to get acquainted with real Russia, which is not shown on TV

Mike Ryabinin
3 min readMay 30, 2023

My virtual friend Jeffrey Packard wrote that it is very interesting to see Russia from the other side, which is often tried not to be shown to tourists, which is not boasted on TV. But this Russia is all around and I'm not kidding that a hundred kilometers from Moscow there are places where time has stopped. One of these places will be discussed today.

Russia sells gas abroad, but many of its residents are still heated by firewood in winter. And it's not in a remote village, but in a city near the capital.

In Russia I am often accused of showing the other side of the candy wrapper, where there are no colorful pictures. They call me a traitor and a foreign agent. My opinion is that a real patriot of his country should wish its prosperity and see what needs to be changed. Pseudo-patriotism is not seeing the dirt and lies you live in and not doing anything to change it.

Four names of one street. Pre-revolutionary name. The revolutionary name of Trotsky's name. The Soviet name is Komsomol. The modern name of the name Panin.

The photos for this article were taken in the town of Tutaev, near the city of Yaroslavl (about 200 kilometers from the capital of Russia). This town was known long before the 1917 revolution, and historical buildings have survived to this day. However, no one needs the city, like many other similar cities, in the development of which very little money is invested. Suffice it to say that the city is divided by a river over which there is still no bridge, and people cross it on ice or by ferry in the summer.

You might think that these photos were taken twenty years ago. But I was in Tutaev just before the Covid-19 pandemic. At that time I didn’t think I would publish my photos about Russia and wrote more about popular tourist places or interesting finds. As it turned out, documentary photography that reflects ordinary life is no less appreciated than photos of hard-to-reach places I’ve been to.

Monument to Joseph Stalin, to which flowers are still brought.
Poster inscription: fresh meat

I have many photos taken in different places of Russia, including the regions of the Far North. I will slowly fill my magazine with these publications. I am interested in reading articles by my friend Chris Collard about different places in the United States, I think many will be interested in reading and seeing photos about Russia, which is not in the news and where foreign tourists do not go.

--

--

Mike Ryabinin

Photographer & Journalist. Traveling around the world in a camper.