TIEA: Analysis Paragraph

Terea Marcum
1 min readNov 3, 2017

--

What is a TIEA paragraph?

TIQA with Q being evidence (E) instead of just a quote. We wanted students to be able to utilize this in other areas than just English or Literature class.

When I first began teaching TIEA, I struggled with ways to explain it to middle schoolers most of whom English was not a native language.

With the help of the my peers in the English department, we created an MYP rubric for writing a TIEA.

BUT my students still struggled!

I needed to break it down even further.

Because the rubric we created goes from middle school to seniors, I needed to make sure that I could explain in detail what each one meant.

It isn’t quite a hyperdoc, but it does house all the information that my students need.

It gives them steps to go by, links to more information, and examples that range from a 1–2 to 7–8.

I wanted students to have everything I was teaching them when we did TIEA step by step in class readily available.

I am constantly making changes to the instructions presentation and the rubric to ensure that the task specific clarifications work!

TIEA Instructions

MYP Rubric

Originally published at msmarcum.wordpress.com on November 3, 2017.

--

--

Terea Marcum

International MS Teacher, MYP Language & Literature, Coetailer, Apple Teacher, YA Lit Addict, Kitchen Experimenter, Beach Bum, Swimmer, Cyclist, Global Traveler