Whole30 Day 1 Finished!

Michael Larson
2 min readOct 19, 2017

--

It’s over!

To start my Whole30 journey, I documented my vitals. While not something I am super excited about sharing, they are what they are. So here goes: weight 199 pounds; body fat 21.7%; BMI 30.3; blood pressure 141/92; pulse 64; and blood glucose 103.

Since the Whole30 started on a Monday, I went to the gym first thing in the morning. The workout was as follows: 7 rounds (with a 50 minute time cap), 1,000 meter row; 10 Russian Kettle Bell Swings (35 pounds); 10 Wall Ball Shots (20 pounds); 10 Chest-to-Bar Pull-Ups; 10 Push-Ups. I was able to complete five rounds plus 10 Russian Kettle Bell Swings.

All that was the easy part. The nutrition is the mother’s milk, where all the real transformation happens.

Pre-Workout: 8 oz. coffee

Post-Workout: 20 oz. water

Breakfast: 2 hard-boiled eggs and 16 oz. coffee

Morning snack: 8 oz. red zinger tea and 20 oz. water

Lunch: 1 cup chicken breast, 6 baby carrots, 3 baby bell peppers, and 20 oz. water

Afternoon snack: small apple, 8 oz. green tea, and 12 almonds

Pre-Dinner: 12 cashews and 8 oz. coffee

Dinner: Paleo Biscuits and Gravy and 16 oz. water

Random thoughts: I noticed at 3:30 in the afternoon I was extremely tired. Not sure if my tiredness was due to not sleeping well or my first day of the Whole30. Either way, I was sitting at my desk and tired. When I arrived home, the wife and I took our perfect boxer for a mile walk. After we made dinner, we made the Easy Breakfast Casserole (http://paleomg.com/easy-breakfast-casserole/).

Finished the night reading the book Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Day 1 is in the bag. Can only hope the process will get better each day, although I am not holding my breath.

#JustsStart

--

--