Marius Slavescu
2 min readApr 23, 2017

--

Thanks Miguel A. Branada , I agree we can have a better logo, but as I’m not expert in branding or design, would be great if you can suggest some logo designs that you’ll see most representative for OSSDC.org.

One small correction, I’ve said an “open autonomous car” not “open source autonomous car”, intentionally, as the auto industry makes it very hard to actually modify cars in this perspective, so we need to turn the cars “upside down” (figuratively) in order to be able to test Open Source SDC algorithms.

See also my response to Chris Anderson, who noted the same problem with the logo, as you did.

I’m looking for people that really want to contribute to Open Source Self Driving Car Initiative, and make it applicable to many SDC and robotics projects, instead of just looking to build next Uber (not that is anything wrong with that).

In my opinion, OSSDC.org is an organization that should be a model for the future, where people join to Learn, Teach, Invent, Make, participate and contribute their expertize in open ways (through OSSDC GitHub Organization), for the good of everyone, not just for their employees or investors.

A logo is important to get the right message across to lots of people, so I hope others will provide better alternatives for the OSSDC logo.

Alone I cannot achieve much, but along with a focused group of people, collaborating often, we can move this initiative forward faster.

Everyone is invited and welcomed to contribute, and I believe everyone has a lot to gain by doing so, especially with automation being deployed everywhere.

We have over 300 members on the OSSDC Slack, but so far only a small fraction are engaging​ in discussions and doing and sharing work for OSSDC, I hope this will change once we (the OSSDC members) crystalize the road map for this year, and we can show more easy to follow and replicate demos for our first MVPs, Vision Based ACC and Advanced LKAS.

--

--

Marius Slavescu

STEMCA Inventor co-author, robotics/STEM education and DIY/maker platform, and Founder of GTA Robotics and OSSDC communities. Follow me at @gtarobotics