Body Image

Michele Matthews
4 min readNov 9, 2022

We’re approaching the beginning of a new year and many people are working on their resolutions to lose weight or exercise more or live healthier or some variation of one of those things. If that is you, have you ever stopped to explore the reasons why we make these specific resolutions?

Let me ask you a question? Do you have a realistic, healthy body image? In other words, do you feel comfortable in your body and feel good about what you see when you look in the mirror?

I know we all have our moments when we may feel unattractive. But is that you ALL the time? When you look in the mirror do you consistently struggle with seeing yourself as beautiful?

I wanted to talk about this topic because there was a time in my life when I really struggled with how I saw myself physically.

When I was in my mid-40s I began to notice that my mid-section was getting puffy. Initially I just did cardio but after a few years I decided to hire a trainer and I not only got leaner, but I got stronger. I loved my body with some muscle on it. My trainer convinced me that I could be successful as a figure competitor. Up until that point, I didn’t even know what figure competitions were, but I trusted him and trained 6 days a week in the gym, did very little cardio and severely modified my diet in order to prepare to walk on a stage in 5-inch heels and a bikini — at the age…

--

--

Michele Matthews

Writer of fiction, non-fiction and essays. Mother, grandmother, sober, fitness enthusiast, movie lover.