You Can’t Always Get What You Want

but if you try sometime you find …

Michele Matthews

--

Photo by Aleksandra Sapozhnikova on Unsplash

If you are still waiting for that apology, you may have to accept the fact that it is never coming.

Thirty-three years ago, my first marriage was annulled because I found out that my husband was in fact, not legally my husband. You see, he married me and totally forgot to divorce his first wife. I was hurt and humiliated and up until that point I had never experienced that type of betrayal and thankfully, have not experienced it again.

We both moved on. I was pregnant at the time of the annulment, and I gave birth to a beautiful, healthy baby boy who has since grown into a loving, caring, responsible son, husband, and father. I married (and divorced) again and I am currently living a very peaceful and fulfilling life.

It wasn’t easy getting here but I did it and for that I am so grateful.

In the beginning, I was angry and bitter and unfortunately, I carried all that anger and bitterness into my second marriage. I’d be lying if I said that those feelings did not contribute to the second divorce. Of course, they did. It took a solid 12+ years, a second failed marriage and therapy for me to truly forgive my first husband. It took that long to realize that (1) unforgiveness was holding me back from true happiness; (2) the anger…

--

--

Michele Matthews

Writer of fiction, non-fiction and essays. Mother, grandmother, sober, fitness enthusiast, movie lover.