4 Days in Trinidad, Cuba

Forever Maddy
2 min readDec 24, 2018

--

I walked around the cobblestone town and just like in Havana, there was music everywhere! I stopped to have lunch at a restaurant called “La Terraza Colonial”, this rooftop restaurant was beautifully adorned with pink and white flowers. The tranquil setting was what drew me into the place. I found a table and began to look at the menu. By this point, i had already gotten very comfortable dining alone! It is very stimulating, the things you would never notice happen when you are alone. Ordered myself the usual “ Cerveza Cristal” beer and began to enjoy it. I was serenaded by the band that was playing delightful sounds as i enjoyed my “ Ropa Vieja” ( inserts drooling emoji)! By far one of the most delicious meals i got to enjoy in Cuba. I was approached by one of the artists and quickly made friends and plans for the night! I was recommended a nightclub that was in a cave and part murder mystery scene and a spot called “ Casa de la Musica”. As my itinerary grew the excitement of spending 4 days in such a beauty grew stronger.

Punctually (something Cubans are known for) that night i was picked up by the friend i made at the restaurant. To start we went to a place that was serving a whole pig (Puerco Asado), we feasted and drank Daiquiri & Cuba Libre, the typical thing to do in the night scene in Cuba. The bartender quickly grew fond of me because i was “ Dominican” and can surely pass as a local Cubana. They gave me lessons behind the bar on how to make drinks, it was beyond funny because i’m far from a mixologist!! I engaged in great conversation with them and i will forever carry them in my heart for being so welcoming and humble to me.

The next morning after an awesome night out we hit PLAYA ANCON. Something i had put at top on my itinerary, Havanas beach was beautiful but this beach was clear and warm far from any New York beach!

Originally published at www.forevermaddy.com on December 24, 2018.

--

--

Forever Maddy

A wondering soul! Striving to be happy and over come all the obstacles life has laid out for her! FOREVERMADDY.COM