Medium.com Weekly 001 by Miki Szeles

Miklós Szeles
5 min readFeb 19, 2022

--

There is a tremendous amount of awesome content here on Medium.com. My daily habit of checking Facebook and Instagram whenever I have a few minutes switched to reading Medium.com and Hashnode articles. Actually, I got totally addicted to it. The first thing in the morning is to check my Medium Daily Digest and read whatever seems interesting to me. Ok, I have to admit, sometimes I read the Hasnode app’s recent section first, but it is only because I do not have to wait for that. 😊 It is so cool that I can open the articles from the Daily Digest email right in the app.

I have decided to collect the articles I found the most insightful into a weekly post, so I can let you know some awesome content and it will also be good for myself as a reference.

As I am mainly interested in Software Development, Testing and Automation, Data Analytics and Deep Learning, Self-improvement, Blogging, Productivity and Psychology, you will find articles mostly related to these topics. This time I focused mostly on testing as I was amazed how much good testing articles are there here on Medium.com, compared to other blogging platforms.

My favourite article from this week is The Golden Handcuffs in 2022, Is your high-paying job actually ruining your life? from The Test Lead. I can highly relate to this topic. Reading the article I realized I was imprisoned by the Golden Handcuffs for years. The last few years were the worst period of my life both professionally and personally. I have a wife and a son, about whom I have to take care (financially). For years I did not quit my job because of the Golden Handcuffs. I went into complete depression and it took me years and the help of a professional, to get out of this situation. I was the perfect exemplar of the impostor syndrome. But I learnt something very valuable from this experience. The Golden Handcuff is very often just an illusion as you can get the same or even better benefits at other companies.

Sorry for the interruption, let’s continue with the articles.

Blogging

Self-improvement

Testing

In case you don’t want to miss my weekly collection or my own writings then follow me here on Medium.com!

Happy reading. 😊

--

--

Miklós Szeles

I am an enthusiastic software developer since my childhood. I work as a Senior Software Engineer in Test (SDET) using Karate DSL and Selenide.