Gun Barrels or Love Quarrels

Manipal The Talk Network
2 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Lovers to enemies, we’re a rom-com gone wrong.
Fireworks of the initial days are now lukewarm.
Gun barrels pointing at each other, we aim.
Yell, shout, scream, cry, justify, deny, we blame.

I’m one of the games you’ve become good at playing.
Like jenga, piece me back together only to set me flailing.
I, too, have picked up some tricks of the trade.
Throwing cruel words at you, like punching at the arcade.

All that time you spent to learn me like the back of your hand,
Just to know which buttons to push till I can’t withstand.
Misery loves company, so I’ll take pleasure in your pain,
I would not be the only one with havoc wrecked in their brain.

At night, I will feed myself lies as I toss and turn,
“could be worse”, “maybe fighting is a love pattern”
“we can overcome this”, “no pain no gain”
“it’s not that bad, tomorrow we’ll fight try again”.

But, what if every good moment we spent was a defect,
A means of practice, till we find someone perfect.
What if we’re Heathcliff and Catherine, or Gatsby and Daisy
Maybe, in the story of your life I was never meant to be.

Someday , these violent delights will indeed lead to violent ends.
But not today; because you decided to bestow attention, make amends.
Some 20 years later, we’ll both portray each other as the villain.
But not tomorrow; because tomorrow we have plans to (fight) try again.

Written By Simran Singh for MTTN

Edited By Sidhant Tomer for MTTN

Artwork by Devanshi Bhardwaj for MTTN

--

--

Manipal The Talk Network

Manipal's largest student media organisation, run by a bunch of passionate folks across town. #WeAreManipal