Final GSoC Evaluation LibreHealth EHR.

Mua Laurent
5 min readAug 7, 2018

--

The final phase has come and I will say that i miss already the summer of codes. This summer was very interesting. This post won’t be enough to tell you all i have learned, challenges faced, bugs encountered, how i tackled each problem, technologies used and so on… they are just so many.

I kept on with my pessimistic and optimistic idea of attaining my goals that is my project proposal at LibreHealth EHR. This was to improve the setup quality of the software during first installation. I worked earnestly hard with my mentors Terry Hill, Tony, Priyanshu to accompish what i have done so far. They were always there to answer present and help me out figure some of my challenges faced. A big thanks goes to this three.

I wrapped up my coding and now the setup installation is good to see that my mentors are very pleasant with the work i have done. Priyanshu quotes

“I tested this PR(till latest commit) and I must say, you have done great job.”

This kept me working even harder to finish my project proposal. The setup is improved and the latest code is found here. I can say i have attained my main objectives and here is a round up of all my module does in the EHR codebase

  1. Setup Process Begins: Setup script is launched if setup hasn't found any previous installations denoted by a $config = 1; usually in the current code base.
setup installation begins

2. Write Access Configuration: Setup checks for directory/file permissions.This is necessary for Linux/mac users to enable functionalities while running the software.

write permissions screen

3. System Info & Server Configuration. Setup verifies environment is suitable for running librehealth EHR suitably (by checkng php, mysql versions, php loaded modules etc);

server info and sytem configuration

It is worth nothing i equipped this installation with next and previous buttons to allow for easy flow of the setup and thus maintaining good user experience.

4. Optional ID selection and database option. Here, setup prompts user to enter a default site cause there will be a multi site installation process. Also it gives user the option use a created database or have the setup do so for them

5. Mysql Configuration: Here, the module gets server information and user credentials to efficiently create the database

6. Installing and Configuring Access Controls (php-GACL)…: This is an important feature of LibreHealth EHR,.Access controls (php-GACL) are installed for fine-grained security.

Access controls (php-GACL) for fine-grained security

7. Configuration of PHP… : Time to configure the PHP with the setup. Usually this gives the user the ability to configure his php so that things don't go weird in the future

PHP configuration (LibreEHR).

8. Configuration of Apache web server… : Similarly, we give the user the ability to configure his/her apache server correctly for proper functioning of the software.

Configuration of Apache web server…

Extra work done

I implemented 2 eye catching page that will enable us know more about our user and this helps us in setting up our new users facility(Medical Unit).This is very helpful because in the current codebase these stuffs are actually difficult to find for a new user of the system you have to hover some menus and edit some configurations also. These could be see in the 02 screens below.

Form to get additional users information
Parameter settings for a particular user (initial user in this case- Izi modal theme option).

With this, i also setup up a mechanism to upgrade the user system in case the system doesn't meets the conditions necessary for installing EHR. This is a demo for Linux users.

Incase your system doesn't meet the required conditions

upgrade script prompt and denies further continuation of setup

Proposes an efficient method for system upgrade

With that said after a successful installation, we should hopefully get the following screen on a successful install.

Successful installation of LibreHealth EHR

And hopefully we get the following screen for the software already installed on login.

Libre EHR SOFTWARE IN ACTION

I wouldn't end this post without giving a thanks to Google, and LibreHealth EHR for giving me the opportunity to have a great experience this summer. ALso a special thanks goes to the team alpha Abhinav Singh, Apoorv Choubey, Naveen, Tigpezeghe Rodrige who helped me in diversed ways form debugging to ideas being shared. I would love to give them a big thanks.

Are you new to open source??? Even if you’re old Open source contributor, why not join LibreHealth, and start writing code to save lives!

Still don’t see any reason to contribute to open source see visit the link below. I pulled them from Tigpezeghe Rodrige blog and found it very interesting Find them here.

Thanks for reading!

--

--