Google Summer of Code with Sugar Labs(Week 2)

Mubashirsharik
1 min readJun 17, 2024

--

In the second coding period of my GSoC journey with Sugar Labs, I made significant progress by integrating FastAPI to build the backend of my project. FastAPI is a modern, fast (high-performance) web framework for building APIs with Python 3.7+ based on standard Python type hints. It allowed me to efficiently manage and route requests, ensuring smooth communication between the client and server.

One of the exciting tools I utilized during this period is Basic Pitch by Spotify. Basic Pitch is a lightweight neural network designed to convert audio files into MIDI format. This tool is incredibly efficient and accurate, making it an ideal choice for my project. By converting audio to MIDI, we can bridge the gap between raw audio data and digital music notation, facilitating further manipulation and analysis.

With the backend in place and the audio-to-MIDI conversion working seamlessly, the next step in my journey is to focus on converting MIDI files into Music Blocks code. Music Blocks is a visual programming language for creating music, and integrating it with the MIDI data will enable users to interact with and visualize their music creations in an educational and engaging way.

For more information about Basic Pitch by Spotify, you can visit their official page.

Stay tuned for more updates as I continue to develop and refine this project!

--

--

Mubashirsharik

Gsoc'2024 sugarlabs | SDE Intern @congruent solutions