New passport? How to update Form I-94? #livingInTheUSA

Mugdha Bhusari
3 min readMar 15, 2020

P.S. This is the process I had to follow in 2020. My passport number was not automatically updated, so I found the process below from my research. Be mindful that the process may have changed in the years that have followed.

If you are on a visa in the US, you would know the Form I-94. Form I-94, the Arrival-Departure Record Card, is a form used by U.S. Customs and Border Protection intended to keep track of the arrival and departure to/from the United States.

For all your processes (CPT / OPT / H1B applications), the Form I-94 should be kept up-to-date and accurate.

So if you recently renewed your passport and your passport number has changed you will need to follow the steps below for an updated I-94:

  1. Find the Deferred Inspections office based on your residence. This information is available at https://www.cbp.gov/contact/ports/deferred-inspection-sites.
  2. Email the request with the below-listed items, attached to your email in PDF format: (Send only the items that apply to your current status):

a. A signed letter detailing the I-94 issue including a good call-back number (For ALL Inquires). Include the following details:

  • Full name
  • I-94 number
  • Old and new passport number
  • Current visa
  • Phone number
  • explanation of the problem: your most recent I-94 reflect your expired passport information

b. A copy of your passport biographical page (For ALL Inquires)

c. A copy of your US non-immigrant visa AND admission stamp of your last arrival to the US (For ALL Inquires)

d. SEVIS Form (For F-1 International Students, J-1 Exchange Visitors, or M-1 Vocational Students Only)

e. I-797 Receipt from USCIS (For Employment-Based Visas Only)

f. I-129S (For L-1 Visa Blanket Petitions Only)

g. I-512 Advanced Parole Document (For Adjustment of Status Applicants Only)

h. Refugee Airline Boarding Document (For Refugees Only)

i. DHS Form G-28 — Notice of Entry of Appearance as Attorney or Accredited Representative (If Represented by an Attorney Only, Attached to this email)

Automatic reply from CBP

3. Requests will be processed only when all the required documents are received. Confirmations will not be sent out when I-94s are updated. CBP will contact you only if additional information is needed (not listed above) and/or a personal appearance is required.

Please allow up to 3–5 business days for I-94 updates/corrections to be processed. Updated I-94s can be located on the CBP I-94 website:https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home

If you prefer to make your correction in person, you can do that. You can visit the your nearest Deferred Inspections Office.

The San Francisco Deferred Inspection Office will make I-94 corrections for people who reside in the San Francisco Bay Area (and surrounding areas) or passengers who arrived through the San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland, Sacramento, or Fresno International Airport. You can visit the San Francisco Deferred Inspections Office at 630 Sansome Street, Room 1185, San Francisco. Phone number: 415–844–5227 or 415–844–5528; Hours of Operation:7:45AM — 3:00PM, Monday — Friday

--

--