Demo Day

Happy Haris
2 min readNov 21, 2017

--

The day that all our blood sweat and tears boils down to one day. The demo day! The web app that my team had made Halal Go Where was ready enough to be presented. We had rehearsed and was the final one to be presented. And I gave it my all. I could not believe it. 3 months just past in a blink of an eye.

What I learned so far in this bootcamp

  • Programming is a group sport
  • There is always room for improvement and learning
  • More than one way to look and solve a problem

I always have this misconception as programmers are solo workers

I always do. I don’t know why. Maybe because when I was self learning coding before AlphaCamp bootcamp, I see tutorials and videos that are focused on oneself. Once I got to know git, github and merge conflicts, I was proven so wrong. Programming is a teamwork thing!

In AlphaCamp, after our first note-taking app, then comes the group projects. That’s when I learn we have to divide our tasks, either through features, user stories or model. Then, when we merge our code, conflicts come about and we learn from this. We learn on the code each of us wrote and from each other on how to do it.

There is no stop in improving and learning

Especially in programming, where there would be a new programming language coming up every now and then, there is always room for learning. The question how good are you a programmer is a difficult one because there are different views on good code/programmer.

More than one correct answer?

Yes, programming is awesome that way. You can solve a problem more than one way. And also, you learn more from other people’s solution. You might have a I didn’t know you could do that moment. Don’t worry. I always have that too.

Overall, it was a fruitful experience and met many people during my stay in AlphaCamp, especially my capstone-mates(web & marketing), classmates, instructors, teacher assistants and AlphaCamp staffs. Fortunate to meet this lovely bunch of people and really created an impact in me. Thanks for the people who came to the demo day!

For now, the plan is to find internship opportunities on being a web developer and still explore other opportunities. Let’s see what the future have up it sleeve! Allez!

--

--