Story about Mentor

Muhammad Faizan
3 min readMar 22, 2019

--

Mentor is someone who can guide you and help you by giving his value able suggestion on behalf of his professional career and the experiences he had gained after working in different sectors or passing through different scenarios in his life.

Things that mentor offers you

My mentor is my father. I really love him. All the way he guides me in all the manners is really inspiring and helpful. His advice that he usually gives to me, “There is no shortcut of success, do work hard and believe in Allah and you will achieve what you want, InShaAllah” is really a great dose for me. Because whenever I’m sad and little bit confused and worried about the things getting with me in life, I always take assistance and motivation from his advice.

I would like to relate a wonderful story about my mentor. When I was in my matriculation, I felt it very difficult to go through science subjects. I used to say, it might be better if I had chosen arts instead of science. On the other side, my mentor who always used to say me, “Work hard and believe in yourself, you will pass the exams with good grades. You will feel proud in your future after looking back in this era”. This was the main thing which always helped me a lot and provided me a guidance that how things could be achieved. This same happened in my Fsc. I found it very tough and I thought that I had done something wrong in choosing the right thing for me. One thing that I want to elaborate over here is that I had set my goal to take admission in UET (the only one government engineering institute in Pakistan) since my matriculation. My mentor, my father used to say me “Listen my Son! How can you go market if you sit inside the house and do not step out?” I always replied, “What do you mean by that?” He said, “You want to join UET and has a dream of becoming an Engineer, and the all you need for this purpose is to get through this fsc study and pass with good marks”. Similarly the process of having preparations for an entry test for admission purpose was also so tough. As there were days of Ramadan Kareem and with the fasting, I had to go to academy for study more than 6 to 7 hours each day just after the Fajr Prayers. His way of motivating me and reminding me to adopt the right path for the particular cause of achieving the goal, is really something that inspired me a lot. Now, Alhamdulillah I am so proud-full and doing my Engineering in 3rd year at UET. Today, what I am; is all due to the blessings of Allah Almighty and the right directions and helpful advices of my mentor that lead me to stand in this position. I’m really thankful to him.

As when you select mentor, you are making a promise with you to learn things and you do not feel any type of hesitation about asking him any right and reasonable questions. You may have to discuss your problems that may be in your professional life and normal life as well. So in these situations, all you need is humility and courage. All the way, what I stand with is humility. It really helped me to feel that I’m on a learning stage and I should feel not any ashamed in asking; just for the cause of removing the ambiguity and get the right directions to move forward.

--

--